# Nuclear Energy Research, Development and Demonstration (81.121)

Source: https://welltoldgrants.com/programs/81-121-nuclear-energy-research-development-and-demonstration/  
Publisher: Well Told Grants. Data: USAspending.gov and Grants.gov, updated November 7, 2026.

Nuclear Energy Research, Development and Demonstration is run by Department of Energy. From fiscal 2021 to 2025 it awarded $3.2 billion in 464 grants, about $7.0 million per award.

## Objectives

The Department of Energy (DOE) promotes nuclear energy as a resource capable of meeting the nation's energy, environmental, and national security needs by resolving technical, cost, safety, security, and proliferation resistance through research, development and demonstration at our national laboratories, universities and colleges, and U.S. industry. Our financial assistance programs play a key role in helping the DOE accomplish its mission of leading the nation's investment in the development and exploration of advanced nuclear technology and its underlying sciences. With this financial assistance, DOE strives to stimulate nuclear science and engineering education through support of advanced research and by training the next generation nuclear energy workforce, while seeking to align the nuclear energy research being conducted at U.S. colleges and universities with DOE’s mission and goals.

## Funding by fiscal year

| Year | Amount | Awards |
|---|---|---|
| 2021 | $476 million | 165 |
| 2022 | $377 million | 136 |
| 2023 | $889 million | 153 |
| 2024 | $426 million | 160 |
| 2025 | $1.1 billion | 65 |

## Largest recipients

| Recipient | State | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Us SFR Owner LLC | Washington | $983 million |
| X Energy, LLC | Maryland | $931 million |
| CFPP LLC | Utah | $232 million |
| Nuscale Power LLC | Oregon | $178 million |
| Holtec Government Services LLC | New Jersey | $106 million |
| Framatome Inc | Virginia | $97.3 million |
| Ge Vernova Operations LLC | New York | $86.8 million |
| Westinghouse Electric Company LLC | Pennsylvania | $84.2 million |
| Southern Company Services, Inc. | Alabama | $71.1 million |
| Constellation Energy Generation, LLC | Pennsylvania | $67.3 million |
| General Atomics | California | $60.2 million |
| Advanced Reactor Concepts, LLC | Virginia | $20.2 million |
| Regents of the University of Michigan | Michigan | $19.0 million |
| Massachusetts Institute of Technology | Massachusetts | $17.9 million |
| University of Wisconsin System | Wisconsin | $16.5 million |
| North Carolina State University | North Carolina | $14.7 million |
| University of Illinois | Illinois | $12.6 million |
| University of Tennessee | Tennessee | $12.2 million |
| The Pennsylvania State University | Pennsylvania | $11.9 million |
| Energy Harbor Corp. | Ohio | $10.6 million |

## Open opportunities

- [Advanced Nuclear Energy Licensing Cost-Share Grant Program](https://welltoldgrants.com/grants/de-foa-0003339-advanced-nuclear-energy-licensing-cost-share-grant-program/), closes November 30, 2026
- [Silcon Carbide Cladding Lead Test Rod Development-Phase 1](https://welltoldgrants.com/grants/de-foa-0003577-silcon-carbide-cladding-lead-test-rod-development-phase/), closes December 7, 2026
- [University Nuclear Leadership Program– Scholarship and Fellowship Support](https://welltoldgrants.com/grants/de-foa-0002265-university-nuclear-leadership-program-scholarship-and/), closes October 14, 2030
- [RFI - DOE R](https://welltoldgrants.com/grants/de-sol-0008246-rfi-doe-r/), closes not stated
- [RFI - DOE Infrastructure Work Scope Development](https://welltoldgrants.com/grants/de-sol-0008318-rfi-doe-infrastructure-work-scope-development/), closes not stated
