# Tribal Colleges Research Grants Program

Source: https://welltoldgrants.com/grants/usda-nifa-tcrgp-009143-tribal-colleges-research-grants-program/  
Official notice: https://www.grants.gov/search-results-detail/340344

> National Institute of Food and Agriculture offered grants of up to $500,000 to the applicants described in the notice. It expected to make $3.8 million in total. Applications closed on July 13, 2022.

| Field | Value |
|---|---|
| Opportunity number | USDA-NIFA-TCRGP-009143 |
| Agency | National Institute of Food and Agriculture |
| Status | Forecast |
| Deadline | July 13, 2022 |
| Award ceiling | $500,000 |
| Award floor | not stated |
| Expected awards | not stated |
| Total funding | $3.8 million |
| Cost sharing | not required |
| Assistance Listings | 10.227 |

## Who can apply

- Others (see text field entitled "Additional Information on Eligibility" for clarification)

A. Eligibility Requirements Applicants for the TCRGP must meet all the requirements discussed in this RFA. Applications may only be submitted by Tribal Colleges or Universities designated as 1994s under the Equity Educational Land-Grant Status Act of 1994 (7 U.S.C. 301, as amended). Award recipients may subcontract to organizations not eligible to apply provided such organizations are necessary for the conduct of the project. Failure to meet the eligibility criteria by the application deadline may result in exclusion from consideration or, preclude NIFA from making an award. For those new to Federal financial assistance, NIFA’s Grants Overview provides highly recommended information about grants and other resources to help understand the Federal awards process.

## What the grant funds

This program was designed to assist 1994 Land-Grant Institutions (Tribal Colleges) in building institutional research capacity through applied projects that address student educational needs and meet community, reservation or regional challenges. Awards are to be made on the basis of a competitive review process. Collaboration with 1862 or 1890 Land-Grant Institutions, the USDA Agricultural Research Service (ARS), a Non-Land-Grant College of Agriculture (NLGCA), or at least one forestry school funded under the McIntire-Stennis Cooperative Forestry Research Program is a requirement. Eligible institutions may propose projects in any discipline of the food, agricultural or natural resource sciences.

## Questions people ask

### Is USDA-NIFA-TCRGP-009143 still open?

No. It closed on July 13, 2022. A newer notice is open: USDA-NIFA-TCRGP-011697, closes December 31, 2026 (54 days left).

### Who can apply for Tribal Colleges Research Grants Program?

National Institute of Food and Agriculture accepted applications from the applicants described in the notice. The notice adds further conditions, so read its eligibility section.

### What is the deadline for Tribal Colleges Research Grants Program?

Closed July 13, 2022. Applications are no longer accepted; the program's newer notices are on this page when there are any.

### How much funding is available?

Awards of up to $500,000 each. About $3.8 million in total.

### Who has won 1994 Institutions Research Grants grants before?

The largest recipients over five fiscal years were Navajo Technical University, College of the Menominee Nation, Dine College. The program made 46 awards worth $15.6 million in that time.
