# Assistive Technology Program for Farmers with Disabilities (AgrAbility)

Source: https://welltoldgrants.com/grants/usda-nifa-slbcd-008682-assistive-technology-program-for-farmers-with-disabilities/  
Official notice: https://www.grants.gov/search-results-detail/336423

> National Institute of Food and Agriculture offered grants of up to $735,360 to the applicants described in the notice. It expected to make $4.4 million in total. Applications closed on January 13, 2022.

| Field | Value |
|---|---|
| Opportunity number | USDA-NIFA-SLBCD-008682 |
| Agency | National Institute of Food and Agriculture |
| Status | Forecast |
| Deadline | January 13, 2022 |
| Award ceiling | $735,360 |
| Award floor | not stated |
| Expected awards | not stated |
| Total funding | $4.4 million |
| Cost sharing | not required |
| Assistance Listings | 10.500 |

## Who can apply

- Others (see text field entitled "Additional Information on Eligibility" for clarification)

Eligibility Requirements Applications may be submitted only by Cooperative Extension at 1862 and 1890 Land-Grant Colleges and Universities including the University of the District of Columbia, Tuskegee University, West Virginia State University, and Central State University. Applicants must partner on their projects with private non-profit organizations providing direct service to individuals with disabilities. Applications must include commitment letters from non-profit partner organizations. Failure to meet an eligibility criterion by the application deadline may result in the application being excluded from consideration or, even though an application may be reviewed, will preclude NIFA from making an award. Award recipients may subcontract to organizations not eligible to apply (such as 1994 Land-Grant Colleges, Hispanic-Serving Institutions) provided such organizations are necessary for the conduct of the project. Also, the 1862 and 1890 Land-Grant Institutions may partner with each other and/or other Land-Grant Institutions (e.g., 1994 Land-Grants) and Non-Land-Grant Institutions within their state or their region on joint proposals. Applications proposing such partnerships must include commitment letters from all partnering organizations. Applicants for the AgrAbility program must meet all the requirements discussed in this RFA. Failure to meet the eligibility criteria by the application deadline may result in exclusion from consideration or, preclude NIFA from making an award. For those new to Federal financial assistance, NIFA’s Grants Overview provides highly recommended information about grants and other resources to help understand the Federal awards process. Duplicate or Multiple Submissions – duplicate or multiple submissions is not allowed. NIFA will disqualify both applications if an applicant submits duplicate or multiple submissions. For those new to Federal financial assistance, NIFA’s Grants Overview provides highly recommended information about grants and other resources to help understand the Federal awards process.

## What the grant funds

The AgrAbility program increases the likelihood that farmers, ranchers, farm workers and farm family members with disabilities will experience success in agricultural production. The program supports projects between State Cooperative Extension System and private, non-profit disability organizations who work in partnership to provide agricultural education and assistance directed at accommodating disability in farm operations for individuals with disabilities, and their families, who engage in farming and farm-related occupations.

## Questions people ask

### Is USDA-NIFA-SLBCD-008682 still open?

No. It closed on January 13, 2022.

### Who can apply for Assistive Technology Program for Farmers with Disabilities (AgrAbility)?

National Institute of Food and Agriculture accepted applications from the applicants described in the notice. The notice adds further conditions, so read its eligibility section.

### What is the deadline for Assistive Technology Program for Farmers with Disabilities (AgrAbility)?

Closed January 13, 2022. Applications are no longer accepted; the program's newer notices are on this page when there are any.

### How much funding is available?

Awards of up to $735,360 each. About $4.4 million in total.

### Who has won Cooperative Extension Service grants before?

The largest recipients over five fiscal years were The Pennsylvania State University, Auburn University, Purdue University. The program made 309 awards worth $299 million in that time.
