# 1890 Institution Teaching, Research and Extension Capacity Building Grants (CBG) Program

Source: https://welltoldgrants.com/grants/usda-nifa-cbgp-008120-1890-institution-teaching-research-and-extension-capacity/  
Official notice: https://www.grants.gov/search-results-detail/330986

> National Institute of Food and Agriculture offered grants of up to $750,000 to the applicants described in the notice. It expected to make $24.7 million in total. Applications closed on October 15, 2021.

| Field | Value |
|---|---|
| Opportunity number | USDA-NIFA-CBGP-008120 |
| Agency | National Institute of Food and Agriculture |
| Status | Forecast |
| Deadline | October 15, 2021 |
| Award ceiling | $750,000 |
| Award floor | not stated |
| Expected awards | not stated |
| Total funding | $24.7 million |
| Cost sharing | not required |
| Assistance Listings | 10.216 |

## Who can apply

- Others (see text field entitled "Additional Information on Eligibility" for clarification)

A. Eligibility RequirementsApplicants for the CBG program must meet all the requirements discussed in this RFA. Failure to meet the eligibility criteria by the application deadline may result in exclusion from consideration or, preclude NIFA from making an award. For those new to Federal financial assistance, NIFA’s Grants Overview provides highly recommended information about grants and other resources to help understand the Federal awards process. Applications may only be submitted by eligible 1890 Land-Grant Institutions, including Tuskegee University, West Virginia State University, and Central State University (per Section 7129 of Pub. L. 113-79) 7 U.S.C. 3152(d)(2). The eligible institutions are:Table 7: Eligible InstitutionsEligible ApplicantsAlabama A&M UniversityPrairie View A&M UniversityAlcorn State UniversitySouth Carolina State UniversityCentral State UniversitySouthern University and A&M CollegeDelaware State UniversityTennessee State UniversityFlorida A&M UniversityTuskegee UniversityFort Valley State UniversityUniversity of Arkansas-Pine BluffKentucky State UniversityUniversity of Maryland-Eastern ShoreLangston UniversityVirginia State UniversityLincoln University (MO)West Virginia State UniversityNorth Carolina A&T State UniversityFaculty and students receiving support for developmental activities or educational costs must be an eligible participant (citizen or national of the United States as defined in Part VIII, E. – Definitions). Students must be enrolled at institutions that are eligible to receive CBG awards (see above paragraphs). Where student or faculty eligibility is claimed under 8 U.S.C. 1101(a) (22), documentary evidence from the United States Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS) as to such eligibility must be made available to NIFA upon request. United States citizenship is not required for faculty who serve as PD, co-PD, or key personnel on a Standard or Collaborative project. United States citizenship is required for faculty who serve as PD on a Professional Development project. Faculty may not serve as PD on more than two active CBG projects. If an applicant has two active projects, at least one project must be scheduled to expire by the end of the current fiscal year. Faculty may submit multiple Standard and/or Collaborative Grant applications as the lead PD to the CBG program in FY 2021. Additionally, there is no limit on the number of applications for which faculty may be listed as co-PD or key personnel. NOTE: All key personnel must submit a current and pending support form. Key personnel may not commit more than 100% effort on concurrent projects.19Collaborative and Integrated Project award recipients may subcontract, as deemed appropriate, to organizations not eligible to apply provided such organizations are necessary to conduct a successful project. The subcontract must advance capacity building at the 1890 institution in the area of the submitted application.

## What the grant funds

The 1890 CBG is intended to strengthen teaching, research and extension programs in the food and agricultural sciences by building the institutional capacities of the 1890 Land-Grant Institutions,including Tuskegee University, West Virginia State University, and Central State University (per Section 7129 of Pub. L. 113-79). The CBG program supports projects that strengthen teaching programs in the food and agricultural sciences in the need areas of curriculum design and materials development, faculty development, and others. CBG supports projects that strengthen research and extension programs in need areas of studies and experimentation, extension program development support systems, and others. The CBG also support integrated project grants. The intent of this initiative is to increase and strengthen food and agriculture sciences at the 1890s through integration of education, research and extension. Applications submitted to CBG must address at least one of the following NIFA strategic goals: sustainable bioenergy; food security; childhood obesity prevention; or food safety. See RFA for details.

## Questions people ask

### Is USDA-NIFA-CBGP-008120 still open?

No. It closed on October 15, 2021.

### Who can apply for 1890 Institution Teaching, Research and Extension Capacity Building Grants (CBG) Program?

National Institute of Food and Agriculture accepted applications from the applicants described in the notice. The notice adds further conditions, so read its eligibility section.

### What is the deadline for 1890 Institution Teaching, Research and Extension Capacity Building Grants (CBG) Program?

Closed October 15, 2021. Applications are no longer accepted; the program's newer notices are on this page when there are any.

### How much funding is available?

Awards of up to $750,000 each. About $24.7 million in total.

### Who has won 1890 Institution Capacity Building Grants grants before?

The largest recipients over five fiscal years were Florida a & M University, University of Maryland Es, West Virginia State University Research and Development Corporation. The program made 272 awards worth $102 million in that time.
