First Responders-Comprehensive Addiction and Recovery Act
Forecast
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Adminis plans to offer grants to the applicants described in the notice. It expects to make about 40 awards worth $20.0 million in total. It is a forecast, and no dates have been set yet.
From the official notice on Grants.gov, last changed October 30, 2026. Checked October 31, 2026.
- Award ceilingnot stated
- Award floornot stated
- Expected awards40
- Total funding$20.0 million
- Cost sharingRequired
- Funding typeCooperative Agreement
Key dates
| Forecast posted | October 30, 2026 |
|---|---|
| Expected posting | December 15, 2026 |
| Expected award date | September 30, 2027 |
Who can apply
This opportunity is open to the applicants described in the notice.
- Others (see text field entitled "Additional Information on Eligibility" for clarification)
Eligibility for this program is statutorily limited (Section 546 of the Public Health Service Act [42 USC 290ee-1], as amended) to states, local governmental entities, and Indian Tribes and Tribal organizations (as defined in section 4 of the Indian Self-Determination and Education Assistance Act).
Is this a realistic fit?
- The notice requires cost sharing or matching funds, so you must contribute part of the project cost.
What the grant funds
The purpose of this program is to train first responders and communities in administering and distributing opioid overdose reversal medications (OORM).
How to apply
- Read the full notice and attachments on Grants.gov. The notice is the official source for deadlines and requirements.
- Make sure your organization has an active SAM.gov registration and Unique Entity ID; registration can take several weeks.
- Register on Grants.gov and submit through Workspace before the deadline and time given in the notice. Our application guide walks through each step.
Questions go to Shannon Hastings, DTP-NOFO@samhsa.hhs.gov, 202-961-8620.
Questions people ask
Who can apply for First Responders-Comprehensive Addiction and Recovery Act?
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Adminis accepts applications from the applicants described in the notice. The notice adds further conditions, so read its eligibility section.
What is the deadline for First Responders-Comprehensive Addiction and Recovery Act?
Forecast, no dates yet. Confirm the date and time in the official notice on Grants.gov.
How much funding is available?
About $20.0 million in total across about 40 awards.
Similar open grants
- Continuation of the Collaborative Islet Transplantation Registry (U01 Clinical Trial Not allowed)
- BRAIN Initiative Cell Atlas Network (BICAN): Coordinating Unit for Biostatistics, Informatics, and Engagement (CUBIE)
- Centers without Walls for mechanisms of neurodegeneration in Alzheimer’s disease-related dementias (ADRD)
- Expanding the Therapeutic Pipeline for Treating and Preventing Alzheimer's Disease and Related Dementias: Preclinical Validation and Drug Discovery for Novel Candidate Targets (U01 Clinical Trial Not Allowed)
- Systematic Testing of Radionuclides in Preclinical Experiments (STRIPE, RP1 Clinical Trial Not Allowed)
- Exposomic Contributions to ADRD Pathology and Resilience