# FY 2024 Study of the U.S. Institutes for Secondary Educators

Source: https://welltoldgrants.com/grants/sfop0010160-fy-2024-study-of-the-u-s-institutes/  
Official notice: https://www.grants.gov/search-results-detail/351444

> Bureau Of Educational and Cultural Affairs offered grants of up to $1.2 million to nonprofits and colleges and universities. It expected to make one award. Applications closed on March 22, 2024.

| Field | Value |
|---|---|
| Opportunity number | SFOP0010160 |
| Agency | Bureau Of Educational and Cultural Affairs |
| Status | Forecast |
| Deadline | March 22, 2024 |
| Award ceiling | $1.2 million |
| Award floor | not stated |
| Expected awards | 1 |
| Total funding | not stated |
| Cost sharing | not required |
| Assistance Listings | 19.401 |

## Who can apply

- Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
- Nonprofits having a 501(c)(3) status with the IRS, other than institutions of higher education
- Private institutions of higher education
- Others (see text field entitled "Additional Information on Eligibility" for clarification)

Please see full announcement.

## What the grant funds

The Study of the U.S. Branch (ECA/A/E/USS), Office of Academic Exchange Programs, Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs (ECA), invites proposal submissions from U.S. public and private academic and cultural institutions, exchange-of-persons, and other not-for-profit organizations meeting the provisions described in Internal Revenue Code section 26 USC 501(c)(3) (see section C.) Eligibility Information) for the design and implementation of three Study of the U.S. Institutes (SUSIs) for Secondary Educators to take place over the course of approximately five weeks in summer 2025. See details in the NOFO in section A.4.) Program Administration. The SUSIs for Secondary Educators will provide multinational groups of experienced secondary-level educators with a deeper understanding of U.S. society, education, culture, values, and institutions. The program will be designed to strengthen curricula and improve the quality of teaching about the United States in secondary schools and academic institutions abroad. Two of the Institutes will be for teachers; one Institute will be for secondary-level education administrators and other educational professionals, including, but not limited to, curriculum developers, ministry of education officials, teacher trainers, and textbook writers. Each Institute will have a four-week academic residency at a U.S. academic institution and a one-week integrated study tour that will expose the participants to a community (or multiple communities) representing a culture and/or region distinct from that of their academic residency. Each Institute will host approximately 20 participants, for a total of approximately 60 foreign secondary educators across three Institutes. More Information on the Institutes can be found in the NOFO in section A.4.) Program Administration.

## Questions people ask

### Is SFOP0010160 still open?

No. It closed on March 22, 2024.

### Who can apply for FY 2024 Study of the U.S. Institutes for Secondary Educators?

Bureau Of Educational and Cultural Affairs accepted applications from nonprofits and colleges and universities. The notice adds further conditions, so read its eligibility section.

### What is the deadline for FY 2024 Study of the U.S. Institutes for Secondary Educators?

Closed March 22, 2024. Applications are no longer accepted; the program's newer notices are on this page when there are any.

### How much funding is available?

Awards of up to $1.2 million each.

### Who has won Academic Exchange Programs - Scholars grants before?

The largest recipients over five fiscal years were Institute of International Education Inc, World Learning Inc., University of Montana. The program made 43 awards worth $173 million in that time.
