# Single Source: Post-Stroke Vascular Contributions to Cognitive Impairment and Dementia (VCID) in the United States (U19 - Clinical Trial Not Allowed)

Source: https://welltoldgrants.com/grants/rfa-ns-27-011-single-source-post-stroke-vascular-contributions-to/  
Official notice: https://www.grants.gov/search-results-detail/360547

> National Institutes of Health offered grants to nonprofits, colleges and universities, state and local governments, tribes, small businesses and businesses. It expected to make one award worth $10.0 million in total. Applications closed on September 28, 2026.

| Field | Value |
|---|---|
| Opportunity number | RFA-NS-27-011 |
| Agency | National Institutes of Health |
| Status | Forecast |
| Deadline | September 28, 2026 |
| Award ceiling | not stated |
| Award floor | not stated |
| Expected awards | 1 |
| Total funding | $10.0 million |
| Cost sharing | not required |
| Assistance Listings | 93.853, 93.866 |

## Who can apply

- State governments
- County governments
- City or township governments
- Special district governments
- Independent school districts
- Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
- Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized)
- Public housing authorities/Indian housing authorities
- Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized tribal governments)
- Nonprofits having a 501(c)(3) status with the IRS, other than institutions of higher education
- Nonprofits that do not have a 501(c)(3) status with the IRS, other than institutions of higher education
- Private institutions of higher education
- For profit organizations other than small businesses
- Small businesses
- Others (see text field entitled "Additional Information on Eligibility" for clarification)

Refer to Section III. Eligibility Information in the NOFO for additional information on eligibility. Only those who received a grant award under RFA-NS-19-012 are eligible to apply. Only the following applicant is eligible to apply for this single source funding: Massachusetts General Hospital. Foreign Organizations/International Collaborations:Non-domestic (non-U.S.) Entities (Foreign Organization) are not eligible to apply. Non-domestic (non-U.S.) components of U.S. Organizations are not eligible to apply. Foreign components, as defined in the NIH Grants Policy Statement, are not allowed.

## What the grant funds

This is a non-competitive funding opportunity intended to fund a single award. The National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke is announcing its intent to issue a single source cooperative agreement award to Massachusetts General Hospital to support the renewal of the Post-Stroke Vascular Cognitive Impairment & Dementia (VCID) program, an ongoing, multi-site clinical research initiative designed to elucidate mechanisms linking stroke to subsequent cognitive impairment and dementia. The award will enable completion of the scientific aims initiated under the original U19 cooperative agreement (RFA-NS-19-012) and advance national priorities described in the National Plan to Address Alzheimer"s Disease. This is a Notice of Funding Opportunity (NOFO) for a Single Source that will invite an application from Massachusetts General Hospital. Please see Section III. Eligibility for additional information. In accordance with NIH standard peer-review processes, the application will be peer-reviewed, and only meritorious application(s) will be considered for funding.

## Questions people ask

### Is RFA-NS-27-011 still open?

No. It closed on September 28, 2026.

### Who can apply for Single Source: Post-Stroke Vascular Contributions to Cognitive Impairment and Dementia (VCID) in the United States (U19 - Clinical Trial Not Allowed)?

National Institutes of Health accepted applications from nonprofits, colleges and universities, state and local governments, tribes, small businesses and businesses. The notice adds further conditions, so read its eligibility section.

### What is the deadline for Single Source: Post-Stroke Vascular Contributions to Cognitive Impairment and Dementia (VCID) in the United States (U19 - Clinical Trial Not Allowed)?

Closed September 28, 2026. Applications are no longer accepted; the program's newer notices are on this page when there are any.

### How much funding is available?

About $10.0 million in total for one award.

### Who has won Extramural Research Programs in the Neurosciences and Neurological Disorders grants before?

The largest recipients over five fiscal years were The General Hospital Corporation, The Regents of the University of California, San Francisco, The Johns Hopkins University. The program made 8,641 awards worth $9.1 billion in that time.
