# Pediatric Heart Network Clinical Research Centers (UM1 Clinical Trial Optional)

Source: https://welltoldgrants.com/grants/rfa-hl-24-001-pediatric-heart-network-clinical-research-centers-um1/  
Official notice: https://www.grants.gov/search-results-detail/345329

> National Institutes of Health offered grants of up to $281,250 to nonprofits, colleges and universities, state and local governments, tribes, small businesses and businesses. Applications closed on May 12, 2023.

| Field | Value |
|---|---|
| Opportunity number | RFA-HL-24-001 |
| Agency | National Institutes of Health |
| Status | Forecast |
| Deadline | May 12, 2023 |
| Award ceiling | $281,250 |
| Award floor | not stated |
| Expected awards | not stated |
| Total funding | not stated |
| Cost sharing | not required |
| Assistance Listings | 93.233, 93.837, 93.838, 93.839, 93.840 |

## Who can apply

- State governments
- County governments
- City or township governments
- Special district governments
- Independent school districts
- Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
- Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized)
- Public housing authorities/Indian housing authorities
- Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized tribal governments)
- Nonprofits having a 501(c)(3) status with the IRS, other than institutions of higher education
- Nonprofits that do not have a 501(c)(3) status with the IRS, other than institutions of higher education
- Private institutions of higher education
- For profit organizations other than small businesses
- Small businesses
- Others (see text field entitled "Additional Information on Eligibility" for clarification)

Other Eligible Applicants include the following: Alaska Native and Native Hawaiian Serving Institutions; Asian American Native American Pacific Islander Serving Institutions (AANAPISISs); Eligible Agencies of the Federal Government; Faith-based or Community-based Organizations; Hispanic-serving Institutions; Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs); Indian/Native American Tribal Governments (Other than Federally Recognized); Non-domestic (non-U.S.) Entities (Foreign Organizations); Regional Organizations; Tribally Controlled Colleges and Universities (TCCUs) ; U.S. Territory or Possession.

## What the grant funds

The purpose of this FOA is to invite applications to participate as a Clinical Research Center (CRC) in the Pediatric Heart Network (https://www.pediatricheartnetwork.org/). CRCs will be expected to support and conduct research to improve the health and quality of life for children and adults with congenital heart disease and children with acquired heart disease through multi-center collaborative clinical research. Collaboration among the CRCs, the Data Coordinating Center (DCC; see companion FOA RFA-HL-24-002, U24 Resource-Related Research Project (Cooperative Agreements), and other stakeholders is expected to facilitate multi-center evaluation of medical, interventional and surgical therapies; support development of novel treatment techniques and methodologies; identify and attempt to address equity gaps in outcomes; provide a training platform for fellows, junior faculty, and nurses; and promote dissemination and implementation of study results to improve the scientific basis for the care of affected individuals.

## Questions people ask

### Is RFA-HL-24-001 still open?

No. It closed on May 12, 2023.

### Who can apply for Pediatric Heart Network Clinical Research Centers (UM1 Clinical Trial Optional)?

National Institutes of Health accepted applications from nonprofits, colleges and universities, state and local governments, tribes, small businesses and businesses. The notice adds further conditions, so read its eligibility section.

### What is the deadline for Pediatric Heart Network Clinical Research Centers (UM1 Clinical Trial Optional)?

Closed May 12, 2023. Applications are no longer accepted; the program's newer notices are on this page when there are any.

### How much funding is available?

Awards of up to $281,250 each.

### Who has been funded under RFA-HL-24-001?

NIH RePORTER lists 9 projects funded under RFA-HL-24-001 in fiscal 2024 to 2026, at 9 institutions. The most were at Boston Children's Hospital, Columbia University Health Sciences, University of Pittsburgh at Pittsburgh.

### Who has won Cardiovascular Diseases Research grants before?

The largest recipients over five fiscal years were The Trustees of the University of Pennsylvania, Brigham & Womens Hospital Inc, Regents of the University of Michigan. The program made 11,798 awards worth $15 billion in that time.
