# Catalyze: Product Definition for Small Molecules and Biologics - Preliminary Product/Lead Series Identification (R33 - Clinical Trial Not Allowed)

Source: https://welltoldgrants.com/grants/rfa-hl-23-012-catalyze-product-definition-for-small-molecules-and/  
Official notice: https://www.grants.gov/search-results-detail/337526

> National Institutes of Health offered grants of up to $350,000 to nonprofits, colleges and universities, state and local governments, tribes, small businesses and businesses. Applications closed on November 21, 2024.

| Field | Value |
|---|---|
| Opportunity number | RFA-HL-23-012 |
| Agency | National Institutes of Health |
| Status | Forecast |
| Deadline | November 21, 2024 |
| Award ceiling | $350,000 |
| Award floor | not stated |
| Expected awards | not stated |
| Total funding | not stated |
| Cost sharing | not required |
| Assistance Listings | 93.233, 93.837, 93.838, 93.839, 93.840 |

## Who can apply

- State governments
- County governments
- City or township governments
- Special district governments
- Independent school districts
- Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
- Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized)
- Public housing authorities/Indian housing authorities
- Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized tribal governments)
- Nonprofits having a 501(c)(3) status with the IRS, other than institutions of higher education
- Nonprofits that do not have a 501(c)(3) status with the IRS, other than institutions of higher education
- Private institutions of higher education
- For profit organizations other than small businesses
- Small businesses
- Others (see text field entitled "Additional Information on Eligibility" for clarification)

Other Eligible Applicants include the following: Alaska Native and Native Hawaiian Serving Institutions; Asian American Native American Pacific Islander Serving Institutions (AANAPISISs); Eligible Agencies of the Federal Government; Faith-based or Community-based Organizations; Hispanic-serving Institutions; Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs); Indian/Native American Tribal Governments (Other than Federally Recognized); Non-domestic (non-U.S.) Entities (Foreign Organizations); Regional Organizations; Tribally Controlled Colleges and Universities (TCCUs) ; U.S. Territory or Possession; Non-domestic (non-U.S.) Entities (Foreign Institutions) are not eligible to apply. Non-domestic (non-U.S.) components of U.S. Organizations are eligible to apply. Foreign components, as defined in the NIH Grants Policy Statement, are allowed.

## What the grant funds

This Funding Opportunity Announcement (FOA) will provide the early stage translational support needed to identify a lead compound series toward development of potential therapeutic agents to treat heart, lung, blood, and sleep diseases and disorders. This FOA is part of a suite of Catalyze innovation grants to advance projects to the point where they can meet the entry criteria for the NHLBI Catalyze Preclinical program or attract independent development support from other federal or private partners for preclinical optimization and development of therapeutic agents.

## Questions people ask

### Is RFA-HL-23-012 still open?

No. It closed on November 21, 2024.

### Who can apply for Catalyze: Product Definition for Small Molecules and Biologics - Preliminary Product/Lead Series Identification (R33 - Clinical Trial Not Allowed)?

National Institutes of Health accepted applications from nonprofits, colleges and universities, state and local governments, tribes, small businesses and businesses. The notice adds further conditions, so read its eligibility section.

### What is the deadline for Catalyze: Product Definition for Small Molecules and Biologics - Preliminary Product/Lead Series Identification (R33 - Clinical Trial Not Allowed)?

Closed November 21, 2024. Applications are no longer accepted; the program's newer notices are on this page when there are any.

### How much funding is available?

Awards of up to $350,000 each.

### Who has been funded under RFA-HL-23-012?

NIH RePORTER lists 4 projects funded under RFA-HL-23-012 in fiscal 2024 to 2026, at 4 institutions. The most were at Indiana University Indianapolis, Children's Research Institute, Medical University of South Carolina.

### Who has won Cardiovascular Diseases Research grants before?

The largest recipients over five fiscal years were The Trustees of the University of Pennsylvania, Brigham & Womens Hospital Inc, Regents of the University of Michigan. The program made 11,798 awards worth $15 billion in that time.
