# Organs-on-a-Chip in Dental, Oral, and Craniofacial Research (DOC-OoCs) (R21 Clinical Trial Not Allowed)

Source: https://welltoldgrants.com/grants/rfa-de-25-002-organs-on-a-chip-in-dental-oral-and/  
Official notice: https://www.grants.gov/search-results-detail/356376

> National Institutes of Health offered grants of up to $275,000 to nonprofits, colleges and universities, state and local governments, tribes, small businesses and businesses. It expected to make $275,000 in total. Applications closed on November 19, 2024.

| Field | Value |
|---|---|
| Opportunity number | RFA-DE-25-002 |
| Agency | National Institutes of Health |
| Status | Forecast |
| Deadline | November 19, 2024 |
| Award ceiling | $275,000 |
| Award floor | not stated |
| Expected awards | not stated |
| Total funding | $275,000 |
| Cost sharing | not required |
| Assistance Listings | 93.121 |

## Who can apply

- State governments
- County governments
- City or township governments
- Special district governments
- Independent school districts
- Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
- Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized)
- Public housing authorities/Indian housing authorities
- Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized tribal governments)
- Nonprofits having a 501(c)(3) status with the IRS, other than institutions of higher education
- Nonprofits that do not have a 501(c)(3) status with the IRS, other than institutions of higher education
- Private institutions of higher education
- For profit organizations other than small businesses
- Small businesses
- Others (see text field entitled "Additional Information on Eligibility" for clarification)

Other Eligible Applicants include the following: Alaska Native and Native Hawaiian Serving Institutions; Asian American Native American Pacific Islander Serving Institutions (AANAPISISs); Eligible Agencies of the Federal Government; Faith-based or Community-based Organizations; Hispanic-serving Institutions; Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs); Indian/Native American Tribal Governments (Other than Federally Recognized); Non-domestic (non-U.S.) Entities (Foreign Organizations); Regional Organizations; Tribally Controlled Colleges and Universities (TCCUs) ; U.S. Territory or Possession; Non-domestic (non-U.S.) Entities (Foreign Organizations) are not eligible to apply. Non-domestic (non-U.S.) components of U.S. Organizations are not eligible to apply. Foreign components, as defined in the NIH Grants Policy Statement, are allowed.

## What the grant funds

To support exploratory/developmental grants for validation of organ-on-a-chip (OoC) toward disease modelling and pre-clinical efficacy studies in dental, oral, and craniofacial (DOC) research.

## Questions people ask

### Is RFA-DE-25-002 still open?

No. It closed on November 19, 2024.

### Who can apply for Organs-on-a-Chip in Dental, Oral, and Craniofacial Research (DOC-OoCs) (R21 Clinical Trial Not Allowed)?

National Institutes of Health accepted applications from nonprofits, colleges and universities, state and local governments, tribes, small businesses and businesses. The notice adds further conditions, so read its eligibility section.

### What is the deadline for Organs-on-a-Chip in Dental, Oral, and Craniofacial Research (DOC-OoCs) (R21 Clinical Trial Not Allowed)?

Closed November 19, 2024. Applications are no longer accepted; the program's newer notices are on this page when there are any.

### How much funding is available?

Awards of up to $275,000 each. About $275,000 in total.

### Who has been funded under RFA-DE-25-002?

NIH RePORTER lists 4 projects funded under RFA-DE-25-002 in fiscal 2025, at 4 institutions. The most were at University of Wisconsin-Madison, Texas A&m University Health Science Ctr, Univ of North Carolina Chapel Hill.

### Who has won Oral Diseases and Disorders Research grants before?

The largest recipients over five fiscal years were Regents of the University of Michigan, The Regents of the University of California, San Francisco, University of Southern California. The program made 2,263 awards worth $1.9 billion in that time.
