# HEAL Initiative: JCOIN Phase II Community Engaged Research Resource Center (U24 Clinical Trial Optional)

Source: https://welltoldgrants.com/grants/rfa-da-25-026-heal-initiative-jcoin-phase-ii-community-engaged-research/  
Official notice: https://www.grants.gov/search-results-detail/354742

> National Institutes of Health offered grants of up to $750,000 to nonprofits, colleges and universities, state and local governments, tribes, small businesses and businesses. Applications closed on January 22, 2025.

| Field | Value |
|---|---|
| Opportunity number | RFA-DA-25-026 |
| Agency | National Institutes of Health |
| Status | Forecast |
| Deadline | January 22, 2025 |
| Award ceiling | $750,000 |
| Award floor | not stated |
| Expected awards | not stated |
| Total funding | not stated |
| Cost sharing | not required |
| Assistance Listings | 93.279, 93.399 |

## Who can apply

- State governments
- County governments
- City or township governments
- Special district governments
- Independent school districts
- Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
- Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized)
- Public housing authorities/Indian housing authorities
- Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized tribal governments)
- Nonprofits having a 501(c)(3) status with the IRS, other than institutions of higher education
- Nonprofits that do not have a 501(c)(3) status with the IRS, other than institutions of higher education
- Private institutions of higher education
- For profit organizations other than small businesses
- Small businesses
- Others (see text field entitled "Additional Information on Eligibility" for clarification)

Other Eligible Applicants include the following: Alaska Native and Native Hawaiian Serving Institutions; Asian American Native American Pacific Islander Serving Institutions (AANAPISISs); Eligible Agencies of the Federal Government; Faith-based or Community-based Organizations; Hispanic-serving Institutions; Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs); Indian/Native American Tribal Governments (Other than Federally Recognized); Non-domestic (non-U.S.) Entities (Foreign Organizations); Regional Organizations; Tribally Controlled Colleges and Universities (TCCUs) ; U.S. Territory or Possession; Non-domestic (non-U.S.) Entities (Foreign Organizations) are not eligible to apply. Non-domestic (non-U.S.) components of U.S. Organizations are not eligible to apply. Foreign components, as defined in the NIH Grants Policy Statement, are allowed.

## What the grant funds

Individuals in the US justice system are disproportionately likely to have SUD/OUD, are at high risk for opioid withdrawal upon incarceration, and are at elevated risk for overdose post-release if they have not received MOUD while detained. Most US jails do not offer MOUD to everyone who could benefit from them. JCOIN focuses on the translation of research-to-practice to address the overdose crisis in the context of the criminal justice system specifically, increasing delivery of and access to MOUD. A portfolio of research projects conducts hybrid effectiveness-implementation trials to address key barriers to delivery of evidence-based OUD treatments to justice-involved populations. This is the only HEAL initiative with a primary focus on justice-involved populations and criminal-legal systems.

## Questions people ask

### Is RFA-DA-25-026 still open?

No. It closed on January 22, 2025.

### Who can apply for HEAL Initiative: JCOIN Phase II Community Engaged Research Resource Center (U24 Clinical Trial Optional)?

National Institutes of Health accepted applications from nonprofits, colleges and universities, state and local governments, tribes, small businesses and businesses. The notice adds further conditions, so read its eligibility section.

### What is the deadline for HEAL Initiative: JCOIN Phase II Community Engaged Research Resource Center (U24 Clinical Trial Optional)?

Closed January 22, 2025. Applications are no longer accepted; the program's newer notices are on this page when there are any.

### How much funding is available?

Awards of up to $750,000 each.

### Who has been funded under RFA-DA-25-026?

NIH RePORTER lists 2 projects funded under RFA-DA-25-026 in fiscal 2025 to 2026, at 2 institutions. The most were at Yale University, Chestnut Health Systems, Inc.

### Who has won Drug Use and Addiction Research Programs grants before?

The largest recipients over five fiscal years were Yale Univ, The Johns Hopkins University, University of California, San Diego. The program made 5,071 awards worth $7.3 billion in that time.
