# HEAL Initiative: Translating Research to Practice to End the Overdose Crisis (R33 Clinical Trial Optional)

Source: https://welltoldgrants.com/grants/rfa-da-23-054-heal-initiative-translating-research-to-practice-to-end/  
Official notice: https://www.grants.gov/search-results-detail/342929

> National Institutes of Health offered grants of up to $750,000 to nonprofits, colleges and universities, state and local governments, tribes, small businesses and businesses. Applications closed on December 16, 2024.

| Field | Value |
|---|---|
| Opportunity number | RFA-DA-23-054 |
| Agency | National Institutes of Health |
| Status | Forecast |
| Deadline | December 16, 2024 |
| Award ceiling | $750,000 |
| Award floor | not stated |
| Expected awards | not stated |
| Total funding | not stated |
| Cost sharing | not required |
| Assistance Listings | 93.213, 93.242, 93.279, 93.865 |

## Who can apply

- State governments
- County governments
- City or township governments
- Special district governments
- Independent school districts
- Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
- Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized)
- Public housing authorities/Indian housing authorities
- Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized tribal governments)
- Nonprofits having a 501(c)(3) status with the IRS, other than institutions of higher education
- Nonprofits that do not have a 501(c)(3) status with the IRS, other than institutions of higher education
- Private institutions of higher education
- For profit organizations other than small businesses
- Small businesses
- Others (see text field entitled "Additional Information on Eligibility" for clarification)

Other Eligible Applicants include the following: Alaska Native and Native Hawaiian Serving Institutions; Asian American Native American Pacific Islander Serving Institutions (AANAPISISs); Eligible Agencies of the Federal Government; Faith-based or Community-based Organizations; Hispanic-serving Institutions; Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs); Indian/Native American Tribal Governments (Other than Federally Recognized); Non-domestic (non-U.S.) Entities (Foreign Organizations); Regional Organizations; Tribally Controlled Colleges and Universities (TCCUs) ; U.S. Territory or Possession; Non-domestic (non-U.S.) Entities (Foreign Institutions) are not eligible to apply. Non-domestic (non-U.S.) components of U.S. Organizations are not eligible to apply. Foreign components, as defined in the NIH Grants Policy Statement, are allowed.

## What the grant funds

This RFA will act as a parent RFA for the HEAL initiative Translation to Practice Team, specifically encouraging translational dissemination and implementation research focused on addressing overdose deaths and the intersection of pain and OUD. This RFA will function in tandem with targeted NOSIs that announce more specific areas of focus. For FY23, this currently includes the Workforce NOSI (formerly an RFA) and the Violence and Trauma NOSI (also formerly an RFA). It has a companion R61/R33 RFA and is expected to run for 2 years (FY23 and FY24)

## Questions people ask

### Is RFA-DA-23-054 still open?

No. It closed on December 16, 2024.

### Who can apply for HEAL Initiative: Translating Research to Practice to End the Overdose Crisis (R33 Clinical Trial Optional)?

National Institutes of Health accepted applications from nonprofits, colleges and universities, state and local governments, tribes, small businesses and businesses. The notice adds further conditions, so read its eligibility section.

### What is the deadline for HEAL Initiative: Translating Research to Practice to End the Overdose Crisis (R33 Clinical Trial Optional)?

Closed December 16, 2024. Applications are no longer accepted; the program's newer notices are on this page when there are any.

### How much funding is available?

Awards of up to $750,000 each.

### Who has been funded under RFA-DA-23-054?

NIH RePORTER lists 3 projects funded under RFA-DA-23-054 in fiscal 2023 to 2026, at 3 institutions. The most were at University of Minnesota, University of California, San Diego, Yale University.

### Who has won Research and Training in Complementary and Integrative Health grants before?

The largest recipients over five fiscal years were Yale Univ, The General Hospital Corporation, Duke University. The program made 653 awards worth $575 million in that time.
