# HEAL Initiative: Research to Foster an Opioid Use Disorder Treatment System Patients Can Count On (RM1 - Clinical Trial Optional)

Source: https://welltoldgrants.com/grants/rfa-da-23-046-heal-initiative-research-to-foster-an-opioid-use/  
Official notice: https://www.grants.gov/search-results-detail/341718

> National Institutes of Health offered grants of up to $1.5 million to nonprofits, colleges and universities, state and local governments, tribes, small businesses and businesses. Applications closed on February 2, 2023.

| Field | Value |
|---|---|
| Opportunity number | RFA-DA-23-046 |
| Agency | National Institutes of Health |
| Status | Forecast |
| Deadline | February 2, 2023 |
| Award ceiling | $1.5 million |
| Award floor | not stated |
| Expected awards | not stated |
| Total funding | not stated |
| Cost sharing | not required |
| Assistance Listings | 93.213, 93.273, 93.279 |

## Who can apply

- State governments
- County governments
- City or township governments
- Special district governments
- Independent school districts
- Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
- Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized)
- Public housing authorities/Indian housing authorities
- Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized tribal governments)
- Nonprofits having a 501(c)(3) status with the IRS, other than institutions of higher education
- Nonprofits that do not have a 501(c)(3) status with the IRS, other than institutions of higher education
- Private institutions of higher education
- For profit organizations other than small businesses
- Small businesses
- Others (see text field entitled "Additional Information on Eligibility" for clarification)

Other Eligible Applicants include the following: Alaska Native and Native Hawaiian Serving Institutions; Asian American Native American Pacific Islander Serving Institutions (AANAPISISs); Eligible Agencies of the Federal Government; Faith-based or Community-based Organizations; Hispanic-serving Institutions; Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs); Indian/Native American Tribal Governments (Other than Federally Recognized); Non-domestic (non-U.S.) Entities (Foreign Organizations); Regional Organizations; Tribally Controlled Colleges and Universities (TCCUs) ; U.S. Territory or Possession; Non-domestic (non-U.S.) Entities (Foreign Institutions) are not eligible to apply. Non-domestic (non-U.S.) components of U.S. Organizations are not eligible to apply. Foreign components, as defined in the NIH Grants Policy Statement, are allowed.

## What the grant funds

This FOA solicits applications for multi-disciplinary RM1 Research Centers (RM1s) that involve partnerships between researchers and payors, health plans, single state agencies/opioid treatment authorities, professional organizations, or other entities. Relevant partners have a deployed or in-development quality measurement and management strategy or system that does or could inform provider or clinician selection and treatment improvement and that rigorous research could substantially advance. Activities should also support the acceptability of the quality measurement and management system to patients, clinicians, and providers; the feasibility, scalability, and sustainability of the system; and equity in quality provider selection and treatment delivery.

## Questions people ask

### Is RFA-DA-23-046 still open?

No. It closed on February 2, 2023.

### Who can apply for HEAL Initiative: Research to Foster an Opioid Use Disorder Treatment System Patients Can Count On (RM1 - Clinical Trial Optional)?

National Institutes of Health accepted applications from nonprofits, colleges and universities, state and local governments, tribes, small businesses and businesses. The notice adds further conditions, so read its eligibility section.

### What is the deadline for HEAL Initiative: Research to Foster an Opioid Use Disorder Treatment System Patients Can Count On (RM1 - Clinical Trial Optional)?

Closed February 2, 2023. Applications are no longer accepted; the program's newer notices are on this page when there are any.

### How much funding is available?

Awards of up to $1.5 million each.

### Who has been funded under RFA-DA-23-046?

NIH RePORTER lists 4 projects funded under RFA-DA-23-046 in fiscal 2023 to 2026, at 3 institutions. The most were at University of Pittsburgh at Pittsburgh, Research Triangle Institute, New York University School of Medicine.

### Who has won Research and Training in Complementary and Integrative Health grants before?

The largest recipients over five fiscal years were Yale Univ, The General Hospital Corporation, Duke University. The program made 653 awards worth $575 million in that time.
