# Registry of Medical Cannabis Use and Health Outcomes (UM1 - Clinical Trial Optional)

Source: https://welltoldgrants.com/grants/rfa-da-23-011-registry-of-medical-cannabis-use-and-health-outcomes/  
Official notice: https://www.grants.gov/search-results-detail/341134

> National Institutes of Health offered grants of up to $1.5 million to nonprofits, colleges and universities, state and local governments, tribes, small businesses and businesses. Applications closed on November 15, 2022.

| Field | Value |
|---|---|
| Opportunity number | RFA-DA-23-011 |
| Agency | National Institutes of Health |
| Status | Forecast |
| Deadline | November 15, 2022 |
| Award ceiling | $1.5 million |
| Award floor | not stated |
| Expected awards | not stated |
| Total funding | not stated |
| Cost sharing | not required |
| Assistance Listings | 93.279 |

## Who can apply

- State governments
- County governments
- City or township governments
- Special district governments
- Independent school districts
- Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
- Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized)
- Public housing authorities/Indian housing authorities
- Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized tribal governments)
- Nonprofits having a 501(c)(3) status with the IRS, other than institutions of higher education
- Nonprofits that do not have a 501(c)(3) status with the IRS, other than institutions of higher education
- Private institutions of higher education
- For profit organizations other than small businesses
- Small businesses
- Others (see text field entitled "Additional Information on Eligibility" for clarification)

Other Eligible Applicants include the following: Alaska Native and Native Hawaiian Serving Institutions; Asian American Native American Pacific Islander Serving Institutions (AANAPISISs); Eligible Agencies of the Federal Government; Faith-based or Community-based Organizations; Hispanic-serving Institutions; Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs); Indian/Native American Tribal Governments (Other than Federally Recognized); Non-domestic (non-U.S.) Entities (Foreign Organizations); Regional Organizations; Tribally Controlled Colleges and Universities (TCCUs) ; U.S. Territory or Possession.

## What the grant funds

oAs of May 18, 2021, 36 US states and four territories allow for the medical use of cannabis products. Current evidence from global database registries and other patient reported outcomes incorporate information from thousands of patients, but much of the evidence is based on anecdotal reports rather than possessing the robustness of randomized clinical trials, and these different types of sources are not always in agreement. As many patients are already using cannabis products for medicinal applications, it is important to identify the evidence that exists and as it evolves, and to harmonize and coordinate this information to maximize the potential benefits to patients while minimizing harmful effects. The goal of this cannabis registry is to gather information regarding medicinal cannabis products used as well as timing of, reasons for, and outcomes of use and impacts on other non-cannabis medication (e.g., opioids) use. This coordinating center will also lead efforts in archiving and analyzing these data, as well as disseminating their findings.

## Questions people ask

### Is RFA-DA-23-011 still open?

No. It closed on November 15, 2022.

### Who can apply for Registry of Medical Cannabis Use and Health Outcomes (UM1 - Clinical Trial Optional)?

National Institutes of Health accepted applications from nonprofits, colleges and universities, state and local governments, tribes, small businesses and businesses. The notice adds further conditions, so read its eligibility section.

### What is the deadline for Registry of Medical Cannabis Use and Health Outcomes (UM1 - Clinical Trial Optional)?

Closed November 15, 2022. Applications are no longer accepted; the program's newer notices are on this page when there are any.

### How much funding is available?

Awards of up to $1.5 million each.

### Who has been funded under RFA-DA-23-011?

NIH RePORTER lists 1 project funded under RFA-DA-23-011 in fiscal 2023 to 2026, at 1 institution.

### Who has won Drug Use and Addiction Research Programs grants before?

The largest recipients over five fiscal years were Yale Univ, The Johns Hopkins University, University of California, San Diego. The program made 5,071 awards worth $7.3 billion in that time.
