# HEAL Initiative: Harm Reduction Policies, Practices, and Modes of Delivery for Persons with Substance Use Disorders (R01 Clinical Trial Optional)

Source: https://welltoldgrants.com/grants/rfa-da-22-046-heal-initiative-harm-reduction-policies-practices-and-modes/  
Official notice: https://www.grants.gov/search-results-detail/337172

> National Institutes of Health offered grants of up to $500,000 to nonprofits, colleges and universities, state and local governments, tribes, small businesses and businesses. Applications closed on March 10, 2022.

| Field | Value |
|---|---|
| Opportunity number | RFA-DA-22-046 |
| Agency | National Institutes of Health |
| Status | Forecast |
| Deadline | March 10, 2022 |
| Award ceiling | $500,000 |
| Award floor | not stated |
| Expected awards | not stated |
| Total funding | not stated |
| Cost sharing | not required |
| Assistance Listings | 93.213, 93.279, 93.846, 93.866 |

## Who can apply

- State governments
- County governments
- City or township governments
- Special district governments
- Independent school districts
- Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
- Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized)
- Public housing authorities/Indian housing authorities
- Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized tribal governments)
- Nonprofits having a 501(c)(3) status with the IRS, other than institutions of higher education
- Nonprofits that do not have a 501(c)(3) status with the IRS, other than institutions of higher education
- Private institutions of higher education
- For profit organizations other than small businesses
- Small businesses
- Others (see text field entitled "Additional Information on Eligibility" for clarification)

Other Eligible Applicants include the following: Alaska Native and Native Hawaiian Serving Institutions; Asian American Native American Pacific Islander Serving Institutions (AANAPISISs); Eligible Agencies of the Federal Government; Faith-based or Community-based Organizations; Hispanic-serving Institutions; Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs); Indian/Native American Tribal Governments (Other than Federally Recognized); Non-domestic (non-U.S.) Entities (Foreign Organizations); Regional Organizations; Tribally Controlled Colleges and Universities (TCCUs) ; U.S. Territory or Possession; Non-domestic (non-U.S.) Entities (Foreign Institutions) are not eligible to apply. Non-domestic (non-U.S.) components of U.S. Organizations are not eligible to apply. Foreign components, as defined in the NIH Grants Policy Statement, are not allowed.

## What the grant funds

This funding opportunity announcement seeks R01-level projects aimed at increasing our understanding of the effectiveness, implementation, and impact of existing and new harm reduction practices to address the ongoing opioid crisis and substance use disorder more broadly. Projects may include: (1) developing and testing new harm reduction strategies; (2) examining how to effectively implement new and existing harm reduction strategies; (3) expanding the settings and delivery models through which harm reduction strategies are deployed; and (4) examining the impact of new harm reduction policies implemented at state and local levels.

## Questions people ask

### Is RFA-DA-22-046 still open?

No. It closed on March 10, 2022.

### Who can apply for HEAL Initiative: Harm Reduction Policies, Practices, and Modes of Delivery for Persons with Substance Use Disorders (R01 Clinical Trial Optional)?

National Institutes of Health accepted applications from nonprofits, colleges and universities, state and local governments, tribes, small businesses and businesses. The notice adds further conditions, so read its eligibility section.

### What is the deadline for HEAL Initiative: Harm Reduction Policies, Practices, and Modes of Delivery for Persons with Substance Use Disorders (R01 Clinical Trial Optional)?

Closed March 10, 2022. Applications are no longer accepted; the program's newer notices are on this page when there are any.

### How much funding is available?

Awards of up to $500,000 each.

### Who has been funded under RFA-DA-22-046?

NIH RePORTER lists 9 projects funded under RFA-DA-22-046 in fiscal 2022 to 2026, at 9 institutions. The most were at University of Nevada Reno, University of Chicago, University of Pennsylvania.

### Who has won Research and Training in Complementary and Integrative Health grants before?

The largest recipients over five fiscal years were Yale Univ, The General Hospital Corporation, Duke University. The program made 653 awards worth $575 million in that time.
