HEAL Initiative: Pain Research Enhancement Program (PREP) (R15 Clinical Trial Optional)
Open
National Institutes of Health is offering grants of up to $375,000 to colleges and universities. Applications close on November 23, 2026.
From the official notice on Grants.gov, last changed January 8, 2025. Checked October 31, 2026.
- Award ceiling$375,000
- Award floornot stated
- Expected awardsnot stated
- Total fundingnot stated
- Cost sharingNot required
- Funding typeGrant
Key dates
| Posted | January 8, 2025 |
|---|---|
| Deadline | November 23, 2026 |
| Archived by Grants.gov | December 29, 2026 |
Add the deadline to your calendar
Who can apply
This opportunity is open to colleges and universities.
- Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
- Private institutions of higher education
- Others (see text field entitled "Additional Information on Eligibility" for clarification)
Other Eligible Applicants include the following: Alaska Native and Native Hawaiian Serving Institutions; Asian American Native American Pacific Islander Serving Institutions (AANAPISISs); Hispanic-serving Institutions; Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs); Tribally Controlled Colleges and Universities (TCCUs) ; Non-domestic (non-U.S.) Entities (Foreign Organizations) are not eligible to apply. Non-domestic (non-U.S.) components of U.S. Organizations are not eligible to apply. Foreign components, as defined in the NIH Grants Policy Statement, are allowed.
Is this a realistic fit?
- No cost sharing or match is required.
What the grant funds
The purpose of this initiative is to: (1) support the efforts by R15-eligible Principal Investigators (PIs) to conduct rigorous basic and/or mechanistic pain research projects; (2) promote integrated, interdisciplinary research partnerships between R15-eligible PIs and additional investigators from U.S. domestic institutions, and (3) enhance the pain research environment at the R15-eligible institution for health professional trainees or undergraduate and/or graduate students by actively engaging them in the proposed pain research projects.
How to apply
- Read the full notice and attachments on Grants.gov and the agency's announcement. The notice is the official source for deadlines and requirements.
- Make sure your organization has an active SAM.gov registration and Unique Entity ID; registration can take several weeks.
- Register on Grants.gov and submit through Workspace before the deadline and time given in the notice. Our application guide walks through each step.
Questions go to National Institutes of Health, grantsinfo@nih.gov, 301-402-2541.
Questions people ask
Who can apply for HEAL Initiative: Pain Research Enhancement Program (PREP) (R15 Clinical Trial Optional)?
National Institutes of Health accepts applications from colleges and universities. The notice adds further conditions, so read its eligibility section.
What is the deadline for HEAL Initiative: Pain Research Enhancement Program (PREP) (R15 Clinical Trial Optional)?
Closes November 23, 2026 (23 days left). Confirm the date and time in the official notice on Grants.gov.
How much funding is available?
Awards of up to $375,000 each.
Similar open grants
- Continuation of the Collaborative Islet Transplantation Registry (U01 Clinical Trial Not allowed)
- BRAIN Initiative Cell Atlas Network (BICAN): Coordinating Unit for Biostatistics, Informatics, and Engagement (CUBIE)
- Centers without Walls for mechanisms of neurodegeneration in Alzheimer’s disease-related dementias (ADRD)
- Expanding the Therapeutic Pipeline for Treating and Preventing Alzheimer's Disease and Related Dementias: Preclinical Validation and Drug Discovery for Novel Candidate Targets (U01 Clinical Trial Not Allowed)
- Systematic Testing of Radionuclides in Preclinical Experiments (STRIPE, RP1 Clinical Trial Not Allowed)
- Exposomic Contributions to ADRD Pathology and Resilience