# HEAL Initiative: Pain Research Enhancement Program (PREP) (R15 Clinical Trial Optional)

Source: https://welltoldgrants.com/grants/rfa-at-25-003-heal-initiative-pain-research-enhancement-program-prep-r15/  
Official notice: https://www.grants.gov/search-results-detail/358090

> National Institutes of Health is offering grants of up to $375,000 to colleges and universities. Applications close on November 23, 2026.

| Field | Value |
|---|---|
| Opportunity number | RFA-AT-25-003 |
| Agency | National Institutes of Health |
| Status | Open |
| Deadline | November 23, 2026 |
| Award ceiling | $375,000 |
| Award floor | not stated |
| Expected awards | not stated |
| Total funding | not stated |
| Cost sharing | not required |
| Assistance Listings | 93.121, 93.213, 93.273, 93.846, 93.853, 93.865, 93.866 |

## Who can apply

- Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
- Private institutions of higher education
- Others (see text field entitled "Additional Information on Eligibility" for clarification)

Other Eligible Applicants include the following: Alaska Native and Native Hawaiian Serving Institutions; Asian American Native American Pacific Islander Serving Institutions (AANAPISISs); Hispanic-serving Institutions; Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs); Tribally Controlled Colleges and Universities (TCCUs) ; Non-domestic (non-U.S.) Entities (Foreign Organizations) are not eligible to apply. Non-domestic (non-U.S.) components of U.S. Organizations are not eligible to apply. Foreign components, as defined in the NIH Grants Policy Statement, are allowed.

## What the grant funds

The purpose of this initiative is to: (1) support the efforts by R15-eligible Principal Investigators (PIs) to conduct rigorous basic and/or mechanistic pain research projects; (2) promote integrated, interdisciplinary research partnerships between R15-eligible PIs and additional investigators from U.S. domestic institutions, and (3) enhance the pain research environment at the R15-eligible institution for health professional trainees or undergraduate and/or graduate students by actively engaging them in the proposed pain research projects.

## Questions people ask

### Who can apply for HEAL Initiative: Pain Research Enhancement Program (PREP) (R15 Clinical Trial Optional)?

National Institutes of Health accepts applications from colleges and universities. The notice adds further conditions, so read its eligibility section.

### What is the deadline for HEAL Initiative: Pain Research Enhancement Program (PREP) (R15 Clinical Trial Optional)?

Closes November 23, 2026 (23 days left). Confirm the date and time in the official notice on Grants.gov.

### How much funding is available?

Awards of up to $375,000 each.
