# HEAL Initiative: Pain Research Enhancement Program (PREP) (R15 Clinical Trial Optional)

Source: https://welltoldgrants.com/grants/rfa-at-25-001-heal-initiative-pain-research-enhancement-program-prep-r15/  
Official notice: https://www.grants.gov/search-results-detail/356298

> National Institutes of Health offered grants of up to $375,000 to colleges and universities. Applications closed on January 7, 2025.

| Field | Value |
|---|---|
| Opportunity number | RFA-AT-25-001 |
| Agency | National Institutes of Health |
| Status | Forecast |
| Deadline | January 7, 2025 |
| Award ceiling | $375,000 |
| Award floor | not stated |
| Expected awards | not stated |
| Total funding | not stated |
| Cost sharing | not required |
| Assistance Listings | 93.121, 93.213, 93.273, 93.846, 93.853, 93.865, 93.866 |

## Who can apply

- Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
- Private institutions of higher education
- Others (see text field entitled "Additional Information on Eligibility" for clarification)

Other Eligible Applicants include the following: Alaska Native and Native Hawaiian Serving Institutions; Asian American Native American Pacific Islander Serving Institutions (AANAPISISs); Hispanic-serving Institutions; Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs); Tribally Controlled Colleges and Universities (TCCUs) ; See Funding Announcement for Eligibility criteriaNon-domestic (non-U.S.) Entities (Foreign Organizations) are not eligible to apply. Non-domestic (non-U.S.) components of U.S. Organizations are not eligible to apply. Foreign components, as defined in the NIH Grants Policy Statement, are allowed.

## What the grant funds

The purpose of this initiative is to: (1) support the efforts by R15-eligible Principal Investigators (PIs) to conduct rigorous basic and/or mechanistic pain research projects; (2) promote integrated, interdisciplinary research partnerships between R15-eligible PIs and additional investigators from U.S. domestic institutions, and (3) enhance the pain research environment at the R15-eligible institution for health professional trainees or undergraduate and/or graduate students by actively engaging them in the proposed pain research projects.

## Questions people ask

### Is RFA-AT-25-001 still open?

No. It closed on January 7, 2025. A newer notice is open: RFA-AT-25-003, closes November 23, 2026 (16 days left).

### Who can apply for HEAL Initiative: Pain Research Enhancement Program (PREP) (R15 Clinical Trial Optional)?

National Institutes of Health accepted applications from colleges and universities. The notice adds further conditions, so read its eligibility section.

### What is the deadline for HEAL Initiative: Pain Research Enhancement Program (PREP) (R15 Clinical Trial Optional)?

Closed January 7, 2025. Applications are no longer accepted; the program's newer notices are on this page when there are any.

### How much funding is available?

Awards of up to $375,000 each.

### Who has been funded under RFA-AT-25-001?

NIH RePORTER lists 1 project funded under RFA-AT-25-001 in fiscal 2025, at 1 institution.

### Who has won Oral Diseases and Disorders Research grants before?

The largest recipients over five fiscal years were Regents of the University of Michigan, The Regents of the University of California, San Francisco, University of Southern California. The program made 2,263 awards worth $1.9 billion in that time.
