# HEAL Initiative: NIH-DOD-VA Pain Management Collaboratory Pragmatic and/or Implementation Science Demonstration Projects ((UG3/UH3) Clinical Trial Required)

Source: https://welltoldgrants.com/grants/rfa-at-24-011-heal-initiative-nih-dod-va-pain-management-collaboratory/  
Official notice: https://www.grants.gov/search-results-detail/355974

> National Institutes of Health offered grants to nonprofits, colleges and universities, state and local governments, tribes, small businesses and businesses. Applications closed on November 7, 2024.

| Field | Value |
|---|---|
| Opportunity number | RFA-AT-24-011 |
| Agency | National Institutes of Health |
| Status | Forecast |
| Deadline | November 7, 2024 |
| Award ceiling | not stated |
| Award floor | not stated |
| Expected awards | not stated |
| Total funding | not stated |
| Cost sharing | not required |
| Assistance Listings | 93.213, 93.273, 93.866 |

## Who can apply

- State governments
- County governments
- City or township governments
- Special district governments
- Independent school districts
- Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
- Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized)
- Public housing authorities/Indian housing authorities
- Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized tribal governments)
- Nonprofits having a 501(c)(3) status with the IRS, other than institutions of higher education
- Nonprofits that do not have a 501(c)(3) status with the IRS, other than institutions of higher education
- Private institutions of higher education
- For profit organizations other than small businesses
- Small businesses
- Others (see text field entitled "Additional Information on Eligibility" for clarification)

Other Eligible Applicants include the following: Alaska Native and Native Hawaiian Serving Institutions; Asian American Native American Pacific Islander Serving Institutions (AANAPISISs); Eligible Agencies of the Federal Government; Faith-based or Community-based Organizations; Hispanic-serving Institutions; Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs); Indian/Native American Tribal Governments (Other than Federally Recognized); Non-domestic (non-U.S.) Entities (Foreign Organizations); Regional Organizations; Tribally Controlled Colleges and Universities (TCCUs) ; U.S. Territory or Possession; Non-domestic (non-U.S.) Entities (Foreign Organizations) are not eligible to apply. Non-domestic (non-U.S.) components of U.S. Organizations are not eligible to apply. Foreign components, as defined in the NIH Grants Policy Statement, are allowed.

## What the grant funds

The purpose of this NOFO is to solicit UG3/UH3 phased award research applications to conduct efficient, large-scale pragmatic clinical trial and/or implementation science Demonstration Projects within the infrastructure of the NIH-DoD-VA Pain Management Collaboratory (PMC) on non-opioid approaches to pain management and other comorbid conditions in U.S. veterans, military personnel, and their families. Additional emphasis on a whole person approach to pain management will be added as a priority for NCCIH and partnering ICOs will also add their priority areas that include pain. This NOFO will add a trial supported by the HEAL Initiative, an NIH-wide research effort aimed at addressing the opioid epidemic in part by identifying effective, non-opioid pain management solutions. The PMC established a Coordinating Center in 2017 that provides national leadership and technical expertise for all aspects of PMC research including assistance to Demonstration Project grant awardees.

## Questions people ask

### Is RFA-AT-24-011 still open?

No. It closed on November 7, 2024.

### Who can apply for HEAL Initiative: NIH-DOD-VA Pain Management Collaboratory Pragmatic and/or Implementation Science Demonstration Projects ((UG3/UH3) Clinical Trial Required)?

National Institutes of Health accepted applications from nonprofits, colleges and universities, state and local governments, tribes, small businesses and businesses. The notice adds further conditions, so read its eligibility section.

### What is the deadline for HEAL Initiative: NIH-DOD-VA Pain Management Collaboratory Pragmatic and/or Implementation Science Demonstration Projects ((UG3/UH3) Clinical Trial Required)?

Closed November 7, 2024. Applications are no longer accepted; the program's newer notices are on this page when there are any.

### Who has been funded under RFA-AT-24-011?

NIH RePORTER lists 3 projects funded under RFA-AT-24-011 in fiscal 2025 to 2026, at 2 institutions. The most were at University of California Los Angeles, Yale University.

### Who has won Research and Training in Complementary and Integrative Health grants before?

The largest recipients over five fiscal years were Yale Univ, The General Hospital Corporation, Duke University. The program made 653 awards worth $575 million in that time.
