# HEAL Initiative: HEAL KIDS (Knowledge, Innovation and Discovery Studies): Chronic Pain Program (UC2 Clinical Trial Optional)

Source: https://welltoldgrants.com/grants/rfa-ar-24-007-heal-initiative-heal-kids-knowledge-innovation-and-discovery/  
Official notice: https://www.grants.gov/search-results-detail/355414

> National Institutes of Health offered grants of up to $1.3 million to nonprofits, colleges and universities, state and local governments, tribes, small businesses and businesses. Applications closed on November 8, 2024.

| Field | Value |
|---|---|
| Opportunity number | RFA-AR-24-007 |
| Agency | National Institutes of Health |
| Status | Forecast |
| Deadline | November 8, 2024 |
| Award ceiling | $1.3 million |
| Award floor | not stated |
| Expected awards | not stated |
| Total funding | not stated |
| Cost sharing | not required |
| Assistance Listings | 93.121, 93.213, 93.233, 93.313, 93.837, 93.838, 93.839, 93.840, 93.846, 93.853, 93.865 |

## Who can apply

- State governments
- County governments
- City or township governments
- Special district governments
- Independent school districts
- Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
- Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized)
- Public housing authorities/Indian housing authorities
- Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized tribal governments)
- Nonprofits having a 501(c)(3) status with the IRS, other than institutions of higher education
- Nonprofits that do not have a 501(c)(3) status with the IRS, other than institutions of higher education
- Private institutions of higher education
- For profit organizations other than small businesses
- Small businesses
- Others (see text field entitled "Additional Information on Eligibility" for clarification)

Other Eligible Applicants include the following: Alaska Native and Native Hawaiian Serving Institutions; Asian American Native American Pacific Islander Serving Institutions (AANAPISISs); Eligible Agencies of the Federal Government; Faith-based or Community-based Organizations; Hispanic-serving Institutions; Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs); Indian/Native American Tribal Governments (Other than Federally Recognized); Non-domestic (non-U.S.) Entities (Foreign Organizations); Regional Organizations; Tribally Controlled Colleges and Universities (TCCUs) ; U.S. Territory or Possession; Non-domestic (non-U.S.) Entities (Foreign Organizations) are not eligible to apply. Non-domestic (non-U.S.) components of U.S. Organizations are eligible to apply. Foreign components, as defined in the NIH Grants Policy Statement, are allowed.

## What the grant funds

As part of the NIH's Helping to End Addiction Long-term (HEAL) Initiative, the National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases and other participating NIH Institutes and Centers invite applications for the HEAL KIDS Chronic Pain Collaborating Research Teams (HEAL KIDS CPT) Program to conduct interdisciplinary team-based research projects that combine clinical research, novel/cutting-edge technologies, and measurement science, which will improve our understanding of primary and secondary chronic pain conditions in children and adolescents. The results are expected to enhance and expand our capacity to pursue challenging biological problems, therapeutics development, and effective management of pediatric pain conditions.

## Questions people ask

### Is RFA-AR-24-007 still open?

No. It closed on November 8, 2024.

### Who can apply for HEAL Initiative: HEAL KIDS (Knowledge, Innovation and Discovery Studies): Chronic Pain Program (UC2 Clinical Trial Optional)?

National Institutes of Health accepted applications from nonprofits, colleges and universities, state and local governments, tribes, small businesses and businesses. The notice adds further conditions, so read its eligibility section.

### What is the deadline for HEAL Initiative: HEAL KIDS (Knowledge, Innovation and Discovery Studies): Chronic Pain Program (UC2 Clinical Trial Optional)?

Closed November 8, 2024. Applications are no longer accepted; the program's newer notices are on this page when there are any.

### How much funding is available?

Awards of up to $1.3 million each.

### Who has been funded under RFA-AR-24-007?

NIH RePORTER lists 2 projects funded under RFA-AR-24-007 in fiscal 2025 to 2026, at 2 institutions. The most were at Seattle Children's Hospital, Cincinnati Childrens Hosp Med Ctr.

### Who has won Oral Diseases and Disorders Research grants before?

The largest recipients over five fiscal years were Regents of the University of Michigan, The Regents of the University of California, San Francisco, University of Southern California. The program made 2,263 awards worth $1.9 billion in that time.
