# Alzheimer's Drug-Development Program (U01 Clinical Trial Optional)

Source: https://welltoldgrants.com/grants/rfa-ag-28-009-alzheimer-s-drug-development-program-u01-clinical-trial/  
Official notice: https://www.grants.gov/search-results-detail/363557

> National Institutes of Health plans to offer grants to nonprofits, colleges and universities, state and local governments, tribes, small businesses and businesses. It is a forecast: the notice is expected around March 10, 2027, with applications due around June 18, 2027.

| Field | Value |
|---|---|
| Opportunity number | RFA-AG-28-009 |
| Agency | National Institutes of Health |
| Status | Forecast |
| Deadline | expected June 18, 2027 |
| Award ceiling | not stated |
| Award floor | not stated |
| Expected awards | not stated |
| Total funding | not stated |
| Cost sharing | not required |
| Assistance Listings | 93.866 |

## Who can apply

- State governments
- County governments
- City or township governments
- Special district governments
- Independent school districts
- Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
- Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized)
- Public housing authorities/Indian housing authorities
- Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized tribal governments)
- Nonprofits having a 501(c)(3) status with the IRS, other than institutions of higher education
- Nonprofits that do not have a 501(c)(3) status with the IRS, other than institutions of higher education
- Private institutions of higher education
- For profit organizations other than small businesses
- Small businesses
- Others (see text field entitled "Additional Information on Eligibility" for clarification)

Other Eligible ApplicantsIndian/Native American Tribal Governments (Other than Federally Recognized);Eligible Agencies of the Federal Government;U.S. Territory or Possession;Faith-based or Community-based Organizations;Regional Organizations;

## What the grant funds

The National Institute on Aging (NIA) intends to publish a Notice of Funding Opportunity (NOFO) to solicit applications that propose pre-clinical and early-stage clinical (Phase I) development of novel small-molecule and biologic drug candidates that aim to prevent Alzheimer's disease (AD), slow its progression, or treat its cognitive and behavioral symptoms. Through the NOFO, NIA is continuing the Alzheimer's Drug-Development Program (ADDP) with the aim of catalyzing drug development for AD. The ADDP is designed to provide funding support to academic and biotech researchers for preclinical drug development activities that can be conducted in their own laboratories or conducted in collaboration with contract research organizations that specialize in preclinical drug development activities. By supporting the most challenging and costly steps of drug development and seamlessly connecting preclinical drug development and first-in-human testing for drug candidates, the ADDP program seeks to: Continue to expand the number of investigational new drug candidates for a portfolio of emerging therapeutic targets; Continue to expand the therapeutic pipeline for AD with drug candidates targeting multiple underlying disease mechanisms that can be used as mono-therapy or as part of combination therapy; and Enable a precision medicine approach to AD drug development. The NOFO will utilize the U01 activity code. Applications are not being solicited at this time. This notice is being provided to allow potential applicants sufficient time to develop meaningful collaborations and responsive projects.

## Questions people ask

### Who can apply for Alzheimer's Drug-Development Program (U01 Clinical Trial Optional)?

National Institutes of Health accepts applications from nonprofits, colleges and universities, state and local governments, tribes, small businesses and businesses. The notice adds further conditions, so read its eligibility section.

### What is the deadline for Alzheimer's Drug-Development Program (U01 Clinical Trial Optional)?

Expected deadline June 18, 2027. Confirm the date and time in the official notice on Grants.gov.
