# HEAL Initiative: Career Development Awards in Implementation Science for Substance Use Prevention and Treatment (K23 - Clinical Trial Required)

Source: https://welltoldgrants.com/grants/pas-22-207-heal-initiative-career-development-awards-in-implementation/  
Official notice: https://www.grants.gov/search-results-detail/342297

> National Institutes of Health offered grants to nonprofits, colleges and universities, state and local governments, tribes, small businesses and businesses. Applications closed on November 12, 2025.

| Field | Value |
|---|---|
| Opportunity number | PAS-22-207 |
| Agency | National Institutes of Health |
| Status | Forecast |
| Deadline | November 12, 2025 |
| Award ceiling | not stated |
| Award floor | not stated |
| Expected awards | not stated |
| Total funding | not stated |
| Cost sharing | not required |
| Assistance Listings | 93.213, 93.242, 93.273, 93.279, 93.398 |

## Who can apply

- State governments
- County governments
- City or township governments
- Special district governments
- Independent school districts
- Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
- Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized)
- Public housing authorities/Indian housing authorities
- Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized tribal governments)
- Nonprofits having a 501(c)(3) status with the IRS, other than institutions of higher education
- Nonprofits that do not have a 501(c)(3) status with the IRS, other than institutions of higher education
- Private institutions of higher education
- For profit organizations other than small businesses
- Small businesses
- Others (see text field entitled "Additional Information on Eligibility" for clarification)

Other Eligible Applicants include the following: Alaska Native and Native Hawaiian Serving Institutions; Asian American Native American Pacific Islander Serving Institutions (AANAPISISs); Eligible Agencies of the Federal Government; Faith-based or Community-based Organizations; Hispanic-serving Institutions; Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs); Indian/Native American Tribal Governments (Other than Federally Recognized); Non-domestic (non-U.S.) Entities (Foreign Organizations); Regional Organizations; Tribally Controlled Colleges and Universities (TCCUs) ; U.S. Territory or Possession; Non-domestic (non-U.S.) Entities (Foreign Institutions) are not eligible to apply. Non-domestic (non-U.S.) components of U.S. Organizations are not eligible to apply. Foreign components, as defined in the NIH Grants Policy Statement, are allowed.

## What the grant funds

This HEAL FOA provides an opportunity for early career researchers or early career clinicians with foundational backgrounds in addiction to develop expertise in implementation science. Successful applicants would propose training in implementation science methods, and a research project that would apply these to at least one of the four priority domains of the HHS Overdose Prevention Strategy: primary prevention (including appropriate opioid prescribing), OUD treatment, harm reduction, and/or recovery support services. The overarching goal is to build a cadre of implementation researchers who can contribute to addressing the current overdose crisis, develop research careers that will impact the quality of addiction clinical practice generally, and become the next generation of implementation experts and mentors.

## Questions people ask

### Is PAS-22-207 still open?

No. It closed on November 12, 2025.

### Who can apply for HEAL Initiative: Career Development Awards in Implementation Science for Substance Use Prevention and Treatment (K23 - Clinical Trial Required)?

National Institutes of Health accepted applications from nonprofits, colleges and universities, state and local governments, tribes, small businesses and businesses. The notice adds further conditions, so read its eligibility section.

### What is the deadline for HEAL Initiative: Career Development Awards in Implementation Science for Substance Use Prevention and Treatment (K23 - Clinical Trial Required)?

Closed November 12, 2025. Applications are no longer accepted; the program's newer notices are on this page when there are any.

### Who has been funded under PAS-22-207?

NIH RePORTER lists 14 projects funded under PAS-22-207 in fiscal 2023 to 2026, at 12 institutions. The most were at Utah State Higher Education System--University of Utah, University of Colorado Denver, University of Illinois at Chicago.

### Who has won Research and Training in Complementary and Integrative Health grants before?

The largest recipients over five fiscal years were Yale Univ, The General Hospital Corporation, Duke University. The program made 653 awards worth $575 million in that time.
