# NIDA Research Education Program for Clinical Researchers and Clinicians (R25 Clinical Trial Not Allowed)

Source: https://welltoldgrants.com/grants/par-25-204-nida-research-education-program-for-clinical-researchers-and/  
Official notice: https://www.grants.gov/search-results-detail/357168

> National Institutes of Health offered grants of up to $350,000 to nonprofits, colleges and universities, state and local governments, tribes, small businesses and businesses. It expected to make $350,000 in total. Applications closed on August 13, 2026.

| Field | Value |
|---|---|
| Opportunity number | PAR-25-204 |
| Agency | National Institutes of Health |
| Status | Forecast |
| Deadline | August 13, 2026 |
| Award ceiling | $350,000 |
| Award floor | not stated |
| Expected awards | not stated |
| Total funding | $350,000 |
| Cost sharing | not required |
| Assistance Listings | 93.279 |

## Who can apply

- State governments
- County governments
- City or township governments
- Special district governments
- Independent school districts
- Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
- Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized)
- Public housing authorities/Indian housing authorities
- Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized tribal governments)
- Nonprofits having a 501(c)(3) status with the IRS, other than institutions of higher education
- Nonprofits that do not have a 501(c)(3) status with the IRS, other than institutions of higher education
- Private institutions of higher education
- For profit organizations other than small businesses
- Small businesses
- Others (see text field entitled "Additional Information on Eligibility" for clarification)

Other Eligible Applicants include the following: Alaska Native and Native Hawaiian Serving Institutions; Asian American Native American Pacific Islander Serving Institutions (AANAPISISs); Eligible Agencies of the Federal Government; Faith-based or Community-based Organizations; Hispanic-serving Institutions; Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs); Indian/Native American Tribal Governments (Other than Federally Recognized); Non-domestic (non-U.S.) Entities (Foreign Organizations); Regional Organizations; Tribally Controlled Colleges and Universities (TCCUs) ; U.S. Territory or Possession; Non-domestic (non-U.S.) Entities (Foreign Organizations) are not eligible to applyNon-domestic (non-U.S.) components of U.S. Organizations are not eligible to apply.

## What the grant funds

The NIH Research Education Program (R25) supports research education activities in the mission areas of the NIH. The over-arching goal of this NIDA R25 program is to support educational activities that complement and/or enhance the training of a workforce to meet the nations biomedical, behavioral and clinical research needs. This NOFO is intended to support research education activities that enhance the knowledge of substance use and substance use disorder research. The program is intended for those in clinically focused careers and/or those training for careers as clinicians/health service providers, clinical researchers, or optimally a combination of the two. This mechanism may not be used to support non-research-related clinical training.

## Questions people ask

### Is PAR-25-204 still open?

No. It closed on August 13, 2026.

### Who can apply for NIDA Research Education Program for Clinical Researchers and Clinicians (R25 Clinical Trial Not Allowed)?

National Institutes of Health accepted applications from nonprofits, colleges and universities, state and local governments, tribes, small businesses and businesses. The notice adds further conditions, so read its eligibility section.

### What is the deadline for NIDA Research Education Program for Clinical Researchers and Clinicians (R25 Clinical Trial Not Allowed)?

Closed August 13, 2026. Applications are no longer accepted; the program's newer notices are on this page when there are any.

### How much funding is available?

Awards of up to $350,000 each. About $350,000 in total.

### Who has been funded under PAR-25-204?

NIH RePORTER lists 6 projects funded under PAR-25-204 in fiscal 2026, at 6 institutions. The most were at Research Inst Nationwide Children's Hosp, University of California Los Angeles, University of California, San Francisco.

### Who has won Drug Use and Addiction Research Programs grants before?

The largest recipients over five fiscal years were Yale Univ, The Johns Hopkins University, University of California, San Diego. The program made 5,071 awards worth $7.3 billion in that time.
