# Limited Competition: Basic Instrumentation Grant (BIG) Program (S10 Clinical Trial Not Allowed)

Source: https://welltoldgrants.com/grants/par-24-326-limited-competition-basic-instrumentation-grant-big-program/  
Official notice: https://www.grants.gov/search-results-detail/356887

> National Institutes of Health offered grants to nonprofits and colleges and universities. Applications closed on July 16, 2026.

| Field | Value |
|---|---|
| Opportunity number | PAR-24-326 |
| Agency | National Institutes of Health |
| Status | Forecast |
| Deadline | July 16, 2026 |
| Award ceiling | not stated |
| Award floor | not stated |
| Expected awards | not stated |
| Total funding | not stated |
| Cost sharing | not required |
| Assistance Listings | 93.351, 93.859 |

## Who can apply

- Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
- Nonprofits having a 501(c)(3) status with the IRS, other than institutions of higher education
- Nonprofits that do not have a 501(c)(3) status with the IRS, other than institutions of higher education
- Private institutions of higher education
- Others (see text field entitled "Additional Information on Eligibility" for clarification)

Other Eligible Applicants include the following: Alaska Native and Native Hawaiian Serving Institutions; Asian American Native American Pacific Islander Serving Institutions (AANAPISISs); Hispanic-serving Institutions; Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs); Tribally Controlled Colleges and Universities (TCCUs) ; Non-domestic (non-U.S.) Entities (Foreign Organizations) are not eligible to apply. Non-domestic (non-U.S.) components of U.S. Organizations are not eligible to apply. Foreign components, as defined in the NIH Grants Policy Statement, are not allowed.

## What the grant funds

The Basic Instrumentation Grant (BIG) Program encourages applications from groups of NIH-supported investigators to purchase a single piece of new, costly, specialized, commercially available instrument or an integrated instrumentation system. The BIG Program is limited to institutions that have not received S10 instrumentation funding of $500,001 or greater in any of the preceding 3 Federal fiscal years (FY). Use the following to determine applicable funding periods:for submission in CY 2026, consider S10 funding in FYs 2023-2025;for submission in CY 2027, consider S10 funding in FYs 2024-2026;for submission in CY 2028, consider S10 funding in FYs 2025-2027.The minimum award is $25,000. There is no maximum price limit for the instrument; however, the maximum award is $350,000. Instruments supported include, but are not limited to, basic cell sorters, confocal microscopes, ultramicrotomes, gel imagers, or computer systems.

## Questions people ask

### Is PAR-24-326 still open?

No. It closed on July 16, 2026.

### Who can apply for Limited Competition: Basic Instrumentation Grant (BIG) Program (S10 Clinical Trial Not Allowed)?

National Institutes of Health accepted applications from nonprofits and colleges and universities. The notice adds further conditions, so read its eligibility section.

### What is the deadline for Limited Competition: Basic Instrumentation Grant (BIG) Program (S10 Clinical Trial Not Allowed)?

Closed July 16, 2026. Applications are no longer accepted; the program's newer notices are on this page when there are any.

### Who has been funded under PAR-24-326?

NIH RePORTER lists 5 projects funded under PAR-24-326 in fiscal 2026, at 5 institutions. The most were at Clarkson University, University of Arkansas at Fayetteville, University of Texas San Antonio.

### Who has won Research Infrastructure Programs grants before?

The largest recipients over five fiscal years were University of California, Davis, Oregon Health & Science University, University of Washington. The program made 1,102 awards worth $1.4 billion in that time.
