# Imaging - Science Track Award for Research Transition (I/START) (R03 Clinical Trial Optional)

Source: https://welltoldgrants.com/grants/par-24-297-imaging-science-track-award-for-research-transition-i/  
Official notice: https://www.grants.gov/search-results-detail/356437

> National Institutes of Health offered grants of up to $150,000 to nonprofits, colleges and universities, state and local governments, tribes, small businesses and businesses. It expected to make $150,000 in total. Applications closed on July 29, 2026.

| Field | Value |
|---|---|
| Opportunity number | PAR-24-297 |
| Agency | National Institutes of Health |
| Status | Forecast |
| Deadline | July 29, 2026 |
| Award ceiling | $150,000 |
| Award floor | not stated |
| Expected awards | not stated |
| Total funding | $150,000 |
| Cost sharing | not required |
| Assistance Listings | 93.279 |

## Who can apply

- State governments
- County governments
- City or township governments
- Special district governments
- Independent school districts
- Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
- Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized)
- Public housing authorities/Indian housing authorities
- Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized tribal governments)
- Nonprofits having a 501(c)(3) status with the IRS, other than institutions of higher education
- Nonprofits that do not have a 501(c)(3) status with the IRS, other than institutions of higher education
- Private institutions of higher education
- For profit organizations other than small businesses
- Small businesses
- Others (see text field entitled "Additional Information on Eligibility" for clarification)

Other Eligible Applicants include the following: Alaska Native and Native Hawaiian Serving Institutions; Asian American Native American Pacific Islander Serving Institutions (AANAPISISs); Eligible Agencies of the Federal Government; Faith-based or Community-based Organizations; Hispanic-serving Institutions; Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs); Indian/Native American Tribal Governments (Other than Federally Recognized); Non-domestic (non-U.S.) Entities (Foreign Organizations); Regional Organizations; Tribally Controlled Colleges and Universities (TCCUs) ; U.S. Territory or Possession; Foreign components, as defined in the NIH Grants Policy Statement, are allowed.

## What the grant funds

This Notice of Funding Opportunity Announcement (NOFO) is designed to encourage and facilitate the entry of investigators to the area of brain imaging research. This NOFO will support both newly independent investigators and established investigators who are seeking to develop and adopt neuroimaging tools and methodologies in their research programs and conduct small "proof-of-concept" studies relevant to substance use disorders and addiction. This NOFO is intended to support Small Research Grant (R03) projects that can be carried out in a short period of time with limited resources.

## Questions people ask

### Is PAR-24-297 still open?

No. It closed on July 29, 2026.

### Who can apply for Imaging - Science Track Award for Research Transition (I/START) (R03 Clinical Trial Optional)?

National Institutes of Health accepted applications from nonprofits, colleges and universities, state and local governments, tribes, small businesses and businesses. The notice adds further conditions, so read its eligibility section.

### What is the deadline for Imaging - Science Track Award for Research Transition (I/START) (R03 Clinical Trial Optional)?

Closed July 29, 2026. Applications are no longer accepted; the program's newer notices are on this page when there are any.

### How much funding is available?

Awards of up to $150,000 each. About $150,000 in total.

### Who has been funded under PAR-24-297?

NIH RePORTER lists 2 projects funded under PAR-24-297 in fiscal 2026, at 2 institutions. The most were at University of California, San Diego, Univ of North Carolina Chapel Hill.

### Who has won Drug Use and Addiction Research Programs grants before?

The largest recipients over five fiscal years were Yale Univ, The Johns Hopkins University, University of California, San Diego. The program made 5,071 awards worth $7.3 billion in that time.
