# Innovative Programs to Enhance Research Training (IPERT) (R25 Independent Clinical Trial Not Allowed)

Source: https://welltoldgrants.com/grants/par-24-252-innovative-programs-to-enhance-research-training-ipert-r25/  
Official notice: https://www.grants.gov/search-results-detail/355492

> National Institutes of Health offered grants of up to $500,000 to nonprofits, colleges and universities, state and local governments, tribes, small businesses and businesses. Applications closed on July 7, 2026.

| Field | Value |
|---|---|
| Opportunity number | PAR-24-252 |
| Agency | National Institutes of Health |
| Status | Forecast |
| Deadline | July 7, 2026 |
| Award ceiling | $500,000 |
| Award floor | not stated |
| Expected awards | not stated |
| Total funding | not stated |
| Cost sharing | not required |
| Assistance Listings | 93.859 |

## Who can apply

- State governments
- County governments
- City or township governments
- Special district governments
- Independent school districts
- Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
- Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized)
- Public housing authorities/Indian housing authorities
- Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized tribal governments)
- Nonprofits having a 501(c)(3) status with the IRS, other than institutions of higher education
- Nonprofits that do not have a 501(c)(3) status with the IRS, other than institutions of higher education
- Private institutions of higher education
- For profit organizations other than small businesses
- Small businesses
- Others (see text field entitled "Additional Information on Eligibility" for clarification)

Other Eligible Applicants include the following: Alaska Native and Native Hawaiian Serving Institutions; Asian American Native American Pacific Islander Serving Institutions (AANAPISISs); Eligible Agencies of the Federal Government; Faith-based or Community-based Organizations; Hispanic-serving Institutions; Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs); Indian/Native American Tribal Governments (Other than Federally Recognized); Non-domestic (non-U.S.) Entities (Foreign Organizations); Regional Organizations; Tribally Controlled Colleges and Universities (TCCUs) ; U.S. Territory or Possession; Non-domestic (non-U.S.) Entities (Foreign Organizations) are not eligible to applyNon-domestic (non-U.S.) components of U.S. Organizations are not eligible to apply. Foreign components, as defined in the NIH Grants Policy Statement, are not allowed.

## What the grant funds

NIGMS will support innovative educational activities designed to equip participants with technical, operational, or professional skills required for careers in the biomedical research workforce. Activities must be open to the broader biomedical research community and may focus on participants at one or more career stages from undergraduates to professionals (for example faculty, staff scientists). Funded programs will have a robust program leadership structure, participant recruitment plan, and evaluation and dissemination plans.

## Questions people ask

### Is PAR-24-252 still open?

No. It closed on July 7, 2026.

### Who can apply for Innovative Programs to Enhance Research Training (IPERT) (R25 Independent Clinical Trial Not Allowed)?

National Institutes of Health accepted applications from nonprofits, colleges and universities, state and local governments, tribes, small businesses and businesses. The notice adds further conditions, so read its eligibility section.

### What is the deadline for Innovative Programs to Enhance Research Training (IPERT) (R25 Independent Clinical Trial Not Allowed)?

Closed July 7, 2026. Applications are no longer accepted; the program's newer notices are on this page when there are any.

### How much funding is available?

Awards of up to $500,000 each.

### Who has been funded under PAR-24-252?

NIH RePORTER lists 20 projects funded under PAR-24-252 in fiscal 2025 to 2026, at 19 institutions. The most were at Mount Desert Island Biological Lab, Native Biodata Consortium, Utah State Higher Education System--University of Utah.

### Who has won Biomedical Research and Research Training grants before?

The largest recipients over five fiscal years were The Leland Stanford Junior University, Regents of the University of Michigan, University of California, San Diego. The program made 11,631 awards worth $15 billion in that time.
