# NIH HEAL Initiative PainCare Clinician Training Program (PCTP): Mentored Patient-Oriented Research Career Development award (K23 - Clinical Trial Required)

Source: https://welltoldgrants.com/grants/par-24-220-nih-heal-initiative-paincare-clinician-training-program-pctp/  
Official notice: https://www.grants.gov/search-results-detail/355209

> National Institutes of Health offered grants to nonprofits, colleges and universities, state and local governments, tribes, small businesses and businesses. Applications closed on January 22, 2026.

| Field | Value |
|---|---|
| Opportunity number | PAR-24-220 |
| Agency | National Institutes of Health |
| Status | Forecast |
| Deadline | January 22, 2026 |
| Award ceiling | not stated |
| Award floor | not stated |
| Expected awards | not stated |
| Total funding | not stated |
| Cost sharing | not required |
| Assistance Listings | 93.213, 93.273, 93.286, 93.846, 93.847, 93.853, 93.865, 93.866 |

## Who can apply

- State governments
- County governments
- City or township governments
- Special district governments
- Independent school districts
- Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
- Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized)
- Public housing authorities/Indian housing authorities
- Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized tribal governments)
- Nonprofits having a 501(c)(3) status with the IRS, other than institutions of higher education
- Nonprofits that do not have a 501(c)(3) status with the IRS, other than institutions of higher education
- Private institutions of higher education
- For profit organizations other than small businesses
- Small businesses
- Others (see text field entitled "Additional Information on Eligibility" for clarification)

Other Eligible Applicants include the following: Alaska Native and Native Hawaiian Serving Institutions; Asian American Native American Pacific Islander Serving Institutions (AANAPISISs); Eligible Agencies of the Federal Government; Faith-based or Community-based Organizations; Hispanic-serving Institutions; Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs); Indian/Native American Tribal Governments (Other than Federally Recognized); Non-domestic (non-U.S.) Entities (Foreign Organizations); Regional Organizations; Tribally Controlled Colleges and Universities (TCCUs) ; U.S. Territory or Possession; Non-domestic (non-U.S.) Entities (Foreign Organizations) are not eligible to apply. Non-domestic (non-U.S.) components of U.S. Organizations are not eligible to apply. Foreign components, as defined in the NIH Grants Policy Statement, are not allowed.

## What the grant funds

The purpose of this NIH HEAL Initiative PAINCare Clinician Training Program (PCTP): Mentored Patient-Oriented Research Career Development award (K23) (Clinical Trial Required) is to support a cohort of new and well-trained, independent investigators. The program will provide independent NIH research support during the early-career phase to help awardees establish independent research programs in areas support by the NIH HEAL Initiatives Clinical Research in Pain Management program.

## Questions people ask

### Is PAR-24-220 still open?

No. It closed on January 22, 2026.

### Who can apply for NIH HEAL Initiative PainCare Clinician Training Program (PCTP): Mentored Patient-Oriented Research Career Development award (K23 - Clinical Trial Required)?

National Institutes of Health accepted applications from nonprofits, colleges and universities, state and local governments, tribes, small businesses and businesses. The notice adds further conditions, so read its eligibility section.

### What is the deadline for NIH HEAL Initiative PainCare Clinician Training Program (PCTP): Mentored Patient-Oriented Research Career Development award (K23 - Clinical Trial Required)?

Closed January 22, 2026. Applications are no longer accepted; the program's newer notices are on this page when there are any.

### Who has been funded under PAR-24-220?

NIH RePORTER lists 2 projects funded under PAR-24-220 in fiscal 2025 to 2026, at 2 institutions. The most were at Case Western Reserve University, University of Colorado Denver.

### Who has won Research and Training in Complementary and Integrative Health grants before?

The largest recipients over five fiscal years were Yale Univ, The General Hospital Corporation, Duke University. The program made 653 awards worth $575 million in that time.
