# Neuropathological Interactions Between COVID-19 and ADRD (R01 - Clinical Trial Not Allowed)

Source: https://welltoldgrants.com/grants/par-24-203-neuropathological-interactions-between-covid-19-and-adrd-r01/  
Official notice: https://www.grants.gov/search-results-detail/353519

> National Institutes of Health offered grants of up to $500,000 to nonprofits, colleges and universities, state and local governments, tribes, small businesses and businesses. Applications closed on October 4, 2024.

| Field | Value |
|---|---|
| Opportunity number | PAR-24-203 |
| Agency | National Institutes of Health |
| Status | Forecast |
| Deadline | October 4, 2024 |
| Award ceiling | $500,000 |
| Award floor | not stated |
| Expected awards | not stated |
| Total funding | not stated |
| Cost sharing | not required |
| Assistance Listings | 93.853, 93.866 |

## Who can apply

- State governments
- County governments
- City or township governments
- Special district governments
- Independent school districts
- Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
- Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized)
- Public housing authorities/Indian housing authorities
- Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized tribal governments)
- Nonprofits having a 501(c)(3) status with the IRS, other than institutions of higher education
- Nonprofits that do not have a 501(c)(3) status with the IRS, other than institutions of higher education
- Private institutions of higher education
- For profit organizations other than small businesses
- Small businesses
- Others (see text field entitled "Additional Information on Eligibility" for clarification)

Other Eligible Applicants include the following: Alaska Native and Native Hawaiian Serving Institutions; Asian American Native American Pacific Islander Serving Institutions (AANAPISISs); Eligible Agencies of the Federal Government; Faith-based or Community-based Organizations; Hispanic-serving Institutions; Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs); Indian/Native American Tribal Governments (Other than Federally Recognized); Non-domestic (non-U.S.) Entities (Foreign Organizations); Regional Organizations; Tribally Controlled Colleges and Universities (TCCUs) ; U.S. Territory or Possession.

## What the grant funds

This NOFO will solicit R01 applications that propose studies in animal, cell culture, and/or human tissue models to elucidate the mechanisms by which COVID-19 interacts with and/or modulates AD/ADRD-relevant phenotypes. Either the model itself or the experimental readouts will be required to incorporate AD/ADRD risk factors, pathologies, or relevant comorbidities. To this end, proposals can focus on one or more of the following: - Mechanistic studies that address how COVID-19 impacts CNS pathology and cognitive outcomes when AD/ADRD pathology is already present (for example, in a model of AD/ADRD). - Mechanistic studies that address how COVID-19 accelerates AD/ADRD pathology and cognitive deficits in a prodromal model (early phase, pre-symptomatic). - Mechanistic studies that address how COVID-19 predisposes for AD/ADRD and/or interacts with relevant comorbid conditions and risk factors (cellular mechanisms that could potentially increase the risk for future AD/ADRD).

## Questions people ask

### Is PAR-24-203 still open?

No. It closed on October 4, 2024.

### Who can apply for Neuropathological Interactions Between COVID-19 and ADRD (R01 - Clinical Trial Not Allowed)?

National Institutes of Health accepted applications from nonprofits, colleges and universities, state and local governments, tribes, small businesses and businesses. The notice adds further conditions, so read its eligibility section.

### What is the deadline for Neuropathological Interactions Between COVID-19 and ADRD (R01 - Clinical Trial Not Allowed)?

Closed October 4, 2024. Applications are no longer accepted; the program's newer notices are on this page when there are any.

### How much funding is available?

Awards of up to $500,000 each.

### Who has been funded under PAR-24-203?

NIH RePORTER lists 2 projects funded under PAR-24-203 in fiscal 2025, at 2 institutions. The most were at Baylor College of Medicine, University of Illinois at Chicago.

### Who has won Extramural Research Programs in the Neurosciences and Neurological Disorders grants before?

The largest recipients over five fiscal years were The General Hospital Corporation, The Regents of the University of California, San Francisco, The Johns Hopkins University. The program made 8,641 awards worth $9.1 billion in that time.
