# NIDDK Education Program Grants (R25 Clinical Trial Not Allowed)

Source: https://welltoldgrants.com/grants/par-24-074-niddk-education-program-grants-r25-clinical-trial-not/  
Official notice: https://www.grants.gov/search-results-detail/351601

> National Institutes of Health offered grants of up to $100,000 to nonprofits, colleges and universities, state and local governments, tribes, small businesses and businesses. Applications closed on January 30, 2026.

| Field | Value |
|---|---|
| Opportunity number | PAR-24-074 |
| Agency | National Institutes of Health |
| Status | Forecast |
| Deadline | January 30, 2026 |
| Award ceiling | $100,000 |
| Award floor | not stated |
| Expected awards | not stated |
| Total funding | not stated |
| Cost sharing | not required |
| Assistance Listings | 93.847 |

## Who can apply

- State governments
- County governments
- City or township governments
- Special district governments
- Independent school districts
- Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
- Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized)
- Public housing authorities/Indian housing authorities
- Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized tribal governments)
- Nonprofits having a 501(c)(3) status with the IRS, other than institutions of higher education
- Nonprofits that do not have a 501(c)(3) status with the IRS, other than institutions of higher education
- Private institutions of higher education
- For profit organizations other than small businesses
- Small businesses
- Others (see text field entitled "Additional Information on Eligibility" for clarification)

Other Eligible Applicants include the following: Alaska Native and Native Hawaiian Serving Institutions; Asian American Native American Pacific Islander Serving Institutions (AANAPISISs); Eligible Agencies of the Federal Government; Faith-based or Community-based Organizations; Hispanic-serving Institutions; Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs); Indian/Native American Tribal Governments (Other than Federally Recognized); Non-domestic (non-U.S.) Entities (Foreign Organizations); Regional Organizations; Tribally Controlled Colleges and Universities (TCCUs) ; U.S. Territory or Possession; Non-domestic (non-U.S.) Entities (Foreign Organizations) are not eligible to apply Non-domestic (non-U.S.) components of U.S. Organizations are not eligible to apply. Foreign components, as defined in the NIH Grants Policy Statement, are not allowed.

## What the grant funds

The NIH Research Education Program (R25) supports research education activities in the mission areas of the NIH. The overarching goal of this R25 program is to support educational activities that complement and/or enhance the training of a workforce to meet the nations biomedical, behavioral and clinical research needs. To accomplish the stated over-arching goal, this NOFO will support educational activities with a primary focus on: Courses for Skills Development Research Experiences These courses for skill development and research experiences must fall within NIDDK's mission areas. NIDDK supports research training skill development and research experiences on diabetes and other endocrine and metabolic diseases; digestive diseases, nutritional disorders, and obesity; and kidney, urologic, and hematologic diseases. Please refer to the NIDDK website for more information.

## Questions people ask

### Is PAR-24-074 still open?

No. It closed on January 30, 2026.

### Who can apply for NIDDK Education Program Grants (R25 Clinical Trial Not Allowed)?

National Institutes of Health accepted applications from nonprofits, colleges and universities, state and local governments, tribes, small businesses and businesses. The notice adds further conditions, so read its eligibility section.

### What is the deadline for NIDDK Education Program Grants (R25 Clinical Trial Not Allowed)?

Closed January 30, 2026. Applications are no longer accepted; the program's newer notices are on this page when there are any.

### How much funding is available?

Awards of up to $100,000 each.

### Who has been funded under PAR-24-074?

NIH RePORTER lists 9 projects funded under PAR-24-074 in fiscal 2025 to 2026, at 9 institutions. The most were at Loyola University Chicago, Trustees of Indiana University, University of Alabama at Birmingham.

### Who has won Diabetes, Digestive, and Kidney Diseases Extramural Research grants before?

The largest recipients over five fiscal years were Regents of the University of Michigan, The Trustees of the University of Pennsylvania, University of Pittsburgh - of the Commonwealth System of Higher Education. The program made 7,877 awards worth $9.6 billion in that time.
