# Nursing Research Education Program in Firearm Injury Prevention Research: Short Courses (R25 Independent Clinical Trial Not Allowed)

Source: https://welltoldgrants.com/grants/par-24-061-nursing-research-education-program-in-firearm-injury/  
Official notice: https://www.grants.gov/search-results-detail/351005

> National Institutes of Health offered grants of up to $200,000 to nonprofits, colleges and universities, state and local governments, tribes, small businesses and businesses. Applications closed on January 17, 2025.

| Field | Value |
|---|---|
| Opportunity number | PAR-24-061 |
| Agency | National Institutes of Health |
| Status | Forecast |
| Deadline | January 17, 2025 |
| Award ceiling | $200,000 |
| Award floor | not stated |
| Expected awards | not stated |
| Total funding | not stated |
| Cost sharing | not required |
| Assistance Listings | 93.361 |

## Who can apply

- State governments
- County governments
- City or township governments
- Special district governments
- Independent school districts
- Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
- Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized)
- Public housing authorities/Indian housing authorities
- Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized tribal governments)
- Nonprofits having a 501(c)(3) status with the IRS, other than institutions of higher education
- Nonprofits that do not have a 501(c)(3) status with the IRS, other than institutions of higher education
- Private institutions of higher education
- For profit organizations other than small businesses
- Small businesses
- Others (see text field entitled "Additional Information on Eligibility" for clarification)

Other Eligible Applicants include the following: Alaska Native and Native Hawaiian Serving Institutions; Asian American Native American Pacific Islander Serving Institutions (AANAPISISs); Eligible Agencies of the Federal Government; Faith-based or Community-based Organizations; Hispanic-serving Institutions; Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs); Indian/Native American Tribal Governments (Other than Federally Recognized); Non-domestic (non-U.S.) Entities (Foreign Organizations); Regional Organizations; Tribally Controlled Colleges and Universities (TCCUs) ; U.S. Territory or Possession; Non-domestic (non-U.S.) Entities (Foreign Organizations) are not eligible to applyNon-domestic (non-U.S.) components of U.S. Organizations are not eligible to apply. Foreign components, as defined in the NIH Grants Policy Statement, are allowed.

## What the grant funds

This program will support the development and implementation of short courses to prepare nurse scientists, and scientists in aligned fields, to conduct firearm injury prevention research in support of the NINR Strategic Plan (https://www.ninr.nih.gov/aboutninr/ninr-mission-and-strategic-plan). Applications are encouraged that build on the existing knowledge, approaches, methods, and techniques related to injury prevention to advance research specifically in the area of firearm injury. Applications should include content related to inequities in firearm injuries (e.g., race, ethnicity, socioeconomic position, gender, geography, and their intersections) and research at the individual, community, institutional, and structural levels.

## Questions people ask

### Is PAR-24-061 still open?

No. It closed on January 17, 2025.

### Who can apply for Nursing Research Education Program in Firearm Injury Prevention Research: Short Courses (R25 Independent Clinical Trial Not Allowed)?

National Institutes of Health accepted applications from nonprofits, colleges and universities, state and local governments, tribes, small businesses and businesses. The notice adds further conditions, so read its eligibility section.

### What is the deadline for Nursing Research Education Program in Firearm Injury Prevention Research: Short Courses (R25 Independent Clinical Trial Not Allowed)?

Closed January 17, 2025. Applications are no longer accepted; the program's newer notices are on this page when there are any.

### How much funding is available?

Awards of up to $200,000 each.

### Who has been funded under PAR-24-061?

NIH RePORTER lists 3 projects funded under PAR-24-061 in fiscal 2025 to 2026, at 3 institutions. The most were at University of Michigan at Ann Arbor, University of Pennsylvania, University of Colorado Denver.

### Who has won Nursing Research grants before?

The largest recipients over five fiscal years were The Trustees of the University of Pennsylvania, The Johns Hopkins University, The Trustees of Columbia University in the City of New York. The program made 786 awards worth $725 million in that time.
