# Modules for Enhancing Biomedical Research Workforce Training (R25 - Independent Clinical Trial Not Allowed)

Source: https://welltoldgrants.com/grants/par-24-040-modules-for-enhancing-biomedical-research-workforce/  
Official notice: https://www.grants.gov/search-results-detail/351109

> National Institutes of Health offered grants of up to $250,000 to nonprofits, colleges and universities, state and local governments, tribes, small businesses and businesses. Applications closed on January 27, 2026.

| Field | Value |
|---|---|
| Opportunity number | PAR-24-040 |
| Agency | National Institutes of Health |
| Status | Forecast |
| Deadline | January 27, 2026 |
| Award ceiling | $250,000 |
| Award floor | not stated |
| Expected awards | not stated |
| Total funding | not stated |
| Cost sharing | not required |
| Assistance Listings | 93.859 |

## Who can apply

- State governments
- County governments
- City or township governments
- Special district governments
- Independent school districts
- Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
- Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized)
- Public housing authorities/Indian housing authorities
- Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized tribal governments)
- Nonprofits having a 501(c)(3) status with the IRS, other than institutions of higher education
- Nonprofits that do not have a 501(c)(3) status with the IRS, other than institutions of higher education
- Private institutions of higher education
- For profit organizations other than small businesses
- Small businesses
- Others (see text field entitled "Additional Information on Eligibility" for clarification)

Other Eligible Applicants include the following: Alaska Native and Native Hawaiian Serving Institutions; Asian American Native American Pacific Islander Serving Institutions (AANAPISISs); Eligible Agencies of the Federal Government; Faith-based or Community-based Organizations; Hispanic-serving Institutions; Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs); Indian/Native American Tribal Governments (Other than Federally Recognized); Non-domestic (non-U.S.) Entities (Foreign Organizations); Regional Organizations; Tribally Controlled Colleges and Universities (TCCUs) ; U.S. Territory or Possession; Non-domestic (non-U.S.) Entities (Foreign Institutions) are not eligible to apply Non-domestic (non-U.S.) components of U.S. Organizations are not eligible to apply. Foreign components, as defined in the NIH Grants Policy Statement, are not allowed.

## What the grant funds

The NIH Research Education Program (R25) supports research education activities in the mission areas of the NIH. The overarching goal of this R25 program is to support educational activities that complement and/or enhance the training of a workforce to meet the nations biomedical, behavioral and clinical research needs. Specifically, this FOA will support the development of exportable training modules designed to enhance training of the biomedical research workforce. Responsive topics will be indicated through Notices of Special Interest (NOSIs) released annually by NIGMS.

## Questions people ask

### Is PAR-24-040 still open?

No. It closed on January 27, 2026.

### Who can apply for Modules for Enhancing Biomedical Research Workforce Training (R25 - Independent Clinical Trial Not Allowed)?

National Institutes of Health accepted applications from nonprofits, colleges and universities, state and local governments, tribes, small businesses and businesses. The notice adds further conditions, so read its eligibility section.

### What is the deadline for Modules for Enhancing Biomedical Research Workforce Training (R25 - Independent Clinical Trial Not Allowed)?

Closed January 27, 2026. Applications are no longer accepted; the program's newer notices are on this page when there are any.

### How much funding is available?

Awards of up to $250,000 each.

### Who has been funded under PAR-24-040?

NIH RePORTER lists 3 projects funded under PAR-24-040 in fiscal 2025 to 2026, at 3 institutions. The most were at Emory University, University of Delaware, Utah State Higher Education System--University of Utah.

### Who has won Biomedical Research and Research Training grants before?

The largest recipients over five fiscal years were The Leland Stanford Junior University, Regents of the University of Michigan, University of California, San Diego. The program made 11,631 awards worth $15 billion in that time.
