# Population Assessment of Tobacco and Health (PATH) Study Biospecimen Access (X01)

Source: https://welltoldgrants.com/grants/par-24-027-population-assessment-of-tobacco-and-health-path-study/  
Official notice: https://www.grants.gov/search-results-detail/349976

> National Institutes of Health offered grants to nonprofits, colleges and universities, state and local governments, tribes, small businesses and businesses. Applications closed on September 5, 2026.

| Field | Value |
|---|---|
| Opportunity number | PAR-24-027 |
| Agency | National Institutes of Health |
| Status | Forecast |
| Deadline | September 5, 2026 |
| Award ceiling | not stated |
| Award floor | not stated |
| Expected awards | not stated |
| Total funding | not stated |
| Cost sharing | not required |
| Assistance Listings | 93.279 |

## Who can apply

- State governments
- County governments
- City or township governments
- Special district governments
- Independent school districts
- Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
- Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized)
- Public housing authorities/Indian housing authorities
- Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized tribal governments)
- Nonprofits having a 501(c)(3) status with the IRS, other than institutions of higher education
- Nonprofits that do not have a 501(c)(3) status with the IRS, other than institutions of higher education
- Private institutions of higher education
- For profit organizations other than small businesses
- Small businesses
- Others (see text field entitled "Additional Information on Eligibility" for clarification)

Other Eligible Applicants include the following: Alaska Native and Native Hawaiian Serving Institutions; Asian American Native American Pacific Islander Serving Institutions (AANAPISISs); Eligible Agencies of the Federal Government; Faith-based or Community-based Organizations; Hispanic-serving Institutions; Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs); Indian/Native American Tribal Governments (Other than Federally Recognized); Non-domestic (non-U.S.) Entities (Foreign Organizations); Regional Organizations; Tribally Controlled Colleges and Universities (TCCUs) ; U.S. Territory or Possession; Non-domestic (non-U.S.) Entities (Foreign Institutions) are not eligible to apply. Non-domestic (non-U.S.) components of U.S. Organizations are not eligible to apply. Foreign components, as defined in the NIH Grants Policy Statement, are not allowed.

## What the grant funds

The Population Assessment of Tobacco and Health (PATH) Study provides the scientific community with biospecimens (urine, plasma, serum, and genomic DNA) and related research data on behaviors, attitudes, biomarkers and health outcomes associated with tobacco use in the U.S. This opportunity allows investigators to apply for access to the biospecimens from the PATH Study. Information about the PATH Study and this resource may be found on the PATH Study series page (https://doi.org/10.3886/Series606) at the University of Michigans National Addiction and HIV Data Archive Program (NAHDAP) website, part of the Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Researchs (ICPSR) website.

## Questions people ask

### Is PAR-24-027 still open?

No. It closed on September 5, 2026.

### Who can apply for Population Assessment of Tobacco and Health (PATH) Study Biospecimen Access (X01)?

National Institutes of Health accepted applications from nonprofits, colleges and universities, state and local governments, tribes, small businesses and businesses. The notice adds further conditions, so read its eligibility section.

### What is the deadline for Population Assessment of Tobacco and Health (PATH) Study Biospecimen Access (X01)?

Closed September 5, 2026. Applications are no longer accepted; the program's newer notices are on this page when there are any.

### Who has won Drug Use and Addiction Research Programs grants before?

The largest recipients over five fiscal years were Yale Univ, The Johns Hopkins University, University of California, San Diego. The program made 5,071 awards worth $7.3 billion in that time.
