# Cancer Research Education Grants Program - Curriculum or Methods Development (R25 Clinical Trial Not Allowed)

Source: https://welltoldgrants.com/grants/par-23-278-cancer-research-education-grants-program-curriculum-or/  
Official notice: https://www.grants.gov/search-results-detail/350280

> National Institutes of Health offered grants of up to $150,000 to nonprofits, colleges and universities, state and local governments, tribes, small businesses and businesses. Applications closed on June 18, 2026.

| Field | Value |
|---|---|
| Opportunity number | PAR-23-278 |
| Agency | National Institutes of Health |
| Status | Forecast |
| Deadline | June 18, 2026 |
| Award ceiling | $150,000 |
| Award floor | not stated |
| Expected awards | not stated |
| Total funding | not stated |
| Cost sharing | not required |
| Assistance Listings | 93.398 |

## Who can apply

- State governments
- County governments
- City or township governments
- Special district governments
- Independent school districts
- Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
- Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized)
- Public housing authorities/Indian housing authorities
- Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized tribal governments)
- Nonprofits having a 501(c)(3) status with the IRS, other than institutions of higher education
- Nonprofits that do not have a 501(c)(3) status with the IRS, other than institutions of higher education
- Private institutions of higher education
- For profit organizations other than small businesses
- Small businesses
- Others (see text field entitled "Additional Information on Eligibility" for clarification)

Other Eligible Applicants include the following: Alaska Native and Native Hawaiian Serving Institutions; Asian American Native American Pacific Islander Serving Institutions (AANAPISISs); Eligible Agencies of the Federal Government; Faith-based or Community-based Organizations; Hispanic-serving Institutions; Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs); Indian/Native American Tribal Governments (Other than Federally Recognized); Non-domestic (non-U.S.) Entities (Foreign Organizations); Regional Organizations; Tribally Controlled Colleges and Universities (TCCUs) ; U.S. Territory or Possession; Non-domestic (non-U.S.) Entities (Foreign Institutions) are not eligible to applyNon-domestic (non-U.S.) components of U.S. Organizations are not eligible to apply. Foreign components, as defined in the NIH Grants Policy Statement, are allowed.

## What the grant funds

The NIH Research Education Program (R25) supports research education activities in the mission areas of the NIH. The over-arching goal of this NCI R25 program is to support educational activities that complement and/or enhance the training of a workforce to meet the nations biomedical, behavioral and clinical research needs. To accomplish the stated over-arching goal, this Notice of Funding Opportunity (NOFO) will support creative educational activities with a primary focus on Curriculum or Methods Development. Applications are encouraged that propose innovative, state-of-the-art programs that address the cause, diagnosis, prevention, or treatment of cancer, rehabilitation from cancer, or the continuing care of cancer patients and the families of cancer patients.

## Questions people ask

### Is PAR-23-278 still open?

No. It closed on June 18, 2026.

### Who can apply for Cancer Research Education Grants Program - Curriculum or Methods Development (R25 Clinical Trial Not Allowed)?

National Institutes of Health accepted applications from nonprofits, colleges and universities, state and local governments, tribes, small businesses and businesses. The notice adds further conditions, so read its eligibility section.

### What is the deadline for Cancer Research Education Grants Program - Curriculum or Methods Development (R25 Clinical Trial Not Allowed)?

Closed June 18, 2026. Applications are no longer accepted; the program's newer notices are on this page when there are any.

### How much funding is available?

Awards of up to $150,000 each.

### Who has been funded under PAR-23-278?

NIH RePORTER lists 3 projects funded under PAR-23-278 in fiscal 2025 to 2026, at 3 institutions. The most were at George Washington University, Beckman Research Institute/City of Hope, Emory University.

### Who has won Cancer Research Manpower grants before?

The largest recipients over five fiscal years were Sloan-Kettering Institute for Cancer Research, Dana-Farber Cancer Institute, Inc., The Univeristy of Texas M.D. Anderson Cancer Center. The program made 2,913 awards worth $1.0 billion in that time.
