# Social disconnection and Suicide Risk in Late Life (R21 Clinical Trial Optional)

Source: https://welltoldgrants.com/grants/par-23-239-social-disconnection-and-suicide-risk-in-late-life/  
Official notice: https://www.grants.gov/search-results-detail/349480

> National Institutes of Health offered grants of up to $275,000 to nonprofits, colleges and universities, state and local governments, tribes, small businesses and businesses. Applications closed on November 17, 2024.

| Field | Value |
|---|---|
| Opportunity number | PAR-23-239 |
| Agency | National Institutes of Health |
| Status | Forecast |
| Deadline | November 17, 2024 |
| Award ceiling | $275,000 |
| Award floor | not stated |
| Expected awards | not stated |
| Total funding | not stated |
| Cost sharing | not required |
| Assistance Listings | 93.242 |

## Who can apply

- State governments
- County governments
- City or township governments
- Special district governments
- Independent school districts
- Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
- Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized)
- Public housing authorities/Indian housing authorities
- Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized tribal governments)
- Nonprofits having a 501(c)(3) status with the IRS, other than institutions of higher education
- Nonprofits that do not have a 501(c)(3) status with the IRS, other than institutions of higher education
- Private institutions of higher education
- For profit organizations other than small businesses
- Small businesses
- Others (see text field entitled "Additional Information on Eligibility" for clarification)

Other Eligible Applicants include the following: Alaska Native and Native Hawaiian Serving Institutions; Asian American Native American Pacific Islander Serving Institutions (AANAPISISs); Eligible Agencies of the Federal Government; Faith-based or Community-based Organizations; Hispanic-serving Institutions; Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs); Indian/Native American Tribal Governments (Other than Federally Recognized); Non-domestic (non-U.S.) Entities (Foreign Organizations); Regional Organizations; Tribally Controlled Colleges and Universities (TCCUs) ; U.S. Territory or Possession.

## What the grant funds

This initiative seeks to solicit applications for research projects that address the link between social disconnection including both objective social isolation as well as perceived social isolation (otherwise known as loneliness) and suicide in late-life. Emphasis is placed on research that identifies neurobiological and environmental mechanisms associated with social isolation and loneliness that increase risk for suicidal thoughts and behavior in late-life, that uses an experimental therapeutics approach to identify targets and develop and test interventions to prevent late-life suicide, and that develops new and modifies existing service delivery models to enhance social connection in late-life to prevent suicide.

## Questions people ask

### Is PAR-23-239 still open?

No. It closed on November 17, 2024.

### Who can apply for Social disconnection and Suicide Risk in Late Life (R21 Clinical Trial Optional)?

National Institutes of Health accepted applications from nonprofits, colleges and universities, state and local governments, tribes, small businesses and businesses. The notice adds further conditions, so read its eligibility section.

### What is the deadline for Social disconnection and Suicide Risk in Late Life (R21 Clinical Trial Optional)?

Closed November 17, 2024. Applications are no longer accepted; the program's newer notices are on this page when there are any.

### How much funding is available?

Awards of up to $275,000 each.

### Who has been funded under PAR-23-239?

NIH RePORTER lists 1 project funded under PAR-23-239 in fiscal 2025 to 2026, at 1 institution.

### Who has won Mental Health Research Grants grants before?

The largest recipients over five fiscal years were Yale Univ, University of Pittsburgh - of the Commonwealth System of Higher Education, University of California, Los Angeles. The program made 6,785 awards worth $8.8 billion in that time.
