# NIH Science Education Partnership Award (SEPA) (R25 - Clinical Trial Not Allowed)

Source: https://welltoldgrants.com/grants/par-23-137-nih-science-education-partnership-award-sepa-r25-clinical/  
Official notice: https://www.grants.gov/search-results-detail/347271

> National Institutes of Health offered grants of up to $250,000 to nonprofits, colleges and universities, state and local governments, tribes, small businesses and businesses. Applications closed on February 21, 2025.

| Field | Value |
|---|---|
| Opportunity number | PAR-23-137 |
| Agency | National Institutes of Health |
| Status | Forecast |
| Deadline | February 21, 2025 |
| Award ceiling | $250,000 |
| Award floor | not stated |
| Expected awards | not stated |
| Total funding | not stated |
| Cost sharing | not required |
| Assistance Listings | 93.121, 93.213, 93.242, 93.273, 93.279, 93.286, 93.307, 93.310, 93.313, 93.361, 93.846, 93.847, 93.853, 93.855, 93.859, 93.865, 93.866, 93.867 |

## Who can apply

- State governments
- County governments
- City or township governments
- Special district governments
- Independent school districts
- Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
- Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized)
- Public housing authorities/Indian housing authorities
- Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized tribal governments)
- Nonprofits having a 501(c)(3) status with the IRS, other than institutions of higher education
- Nonprofits that do not have a 501(c)(3) status with the IRS, other than institutions of higher education
- Private institutions of higher education
- For profit organizations other than small businesses
- Small businesses
- Others (see text field entitled "Additional Information on Eligibility" for clarification)

Other Eligible Applicants include the following: Alaska Native and Native Hawaiian Serving Institutions; Asian American Native American Pacific Islander Serving Institutions (AANAPISISs); Eligible Agencies of the Federal Government; Faith-based or Community-based Organizations; Hispanic-serving Institutions; Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs); Indian/Native American Tribal Governments (Other than Federally Recognized); Non-domestic (non-U.S.) Entities (Foreign Organizations); Regional Organizations; Tribally Controlled Colleges and Universities (TCCUs) ; U.S. Territory or Possession; Non-domestic (non-U.S.) Entities (Foreign Institutions) are not eligible to applyNon-domestic (non-U.S.) components of U.S. Organizations are not eligible to apply. Foreign components, as defined in the NIH Grants Policy Statement, are not allowed.

## What the grant funds

The NIH Research Education Program (R25) supports research education activities in the mission areas of the NIH. The overarching goal of this R25 program is to support educational activities that encourage individuals to pursue further studies or careers in research.

## Questions people ask

### Is PAR-23-137 still open?

No. It closed on February 21, 2025. A newer notice is open: PAR-27-077, due dates in the notice, expires May 25, 2029.

### Who can apply for NIH Science Education Partnership Award (SEPA) (R25 - Clinical Trial Not Allowed)?

National Institutes of Health accepted applications from nonprofits, colleges and universities, state and local governments, tribes, small businesses and businesses. The notice adds further conditions, so read its eligibility section.

### What is the deadline for NIH Science Education Partnership Award (SEPA) (R25 - Clinical Trial Not Allowed)?

Closed February 21, 2025. Applications are no longer accepted; the program's newer notices are on this page when there are any.

### How much funding is available?

Awards of up to $250,000 each.

### Who has been funded under PAR-23-137?

NIH RePORTER lists 29 projects funded under PAR-23-137 in fiscal 2024 to 2026, at 28 institutions. The most were at University of Montana, University of Idaho, Oregon Health & Science University.

### Who has won Oral Diseases and Disorders Research grants before?

The largest recipients over five fiscal years were Regents of the University of Michigan, The Regents of the University of California, San Francisco, University of Southern California. The program made 2,263 awards worth $1.9 billion in that time.
