# NICHD Research Education Programs (R25 Clinical Trial Not Allowed)

Source: https://welltoldgrants.com/grants/par-22-224-nichd-research-education-programs-r25-clinical-trial-not/  
Official notice: https://www.grants.gov/search-results-detail/343232

> National Institutes of Health offered grants of up to $150,000 to nonprofits, colleges and universities, state and local governments, tribes, small businesses and businesses. Applications closed on May 25, 2025.

| Field | Value |
|---|---|
| Opportunity number | PAR-22-224 |
| Agency | National Institutes of Health |
| Status | Forecast |
| Deadline | May 25, 2025 |
| Award ceiling | $150,000 |
| Award floor | not stated |
| Expected awards | not stated |
| Total funding | not stated |
| Cost sharing | not required |
| Assistance Listings | 93.350, 93.865 |

## Who can apply

- State governments
- County governments
- City or township governments
- Special district governments
- Independent school districts
- Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
- Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized)
- Public housing authorities/Indian housing authorities
- Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized tribal governments)
- Nonprofits having a 501(c)(3) status with the IRS, other than institutions of higher education
- Nonprofits that do not have a 501(c)(3) status with the IRS, other than institutions of higher education
- Private institutions of higher education
- For profit organizations other than small businesses
- Small businesses
- Others (see text field entitled "Additional Information on Eligibility" for clarification)

Other Eligible Applicants include the following: Alaska Native and Native Hawaiian Serving Institutions; Asian American Native American Pacific Islander Serving Institutions (AANAPISISs); Eligible Agencies of the Federal Government; Faith-based or Community-based Organizations; Hispanic-serving Institutions; Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs); Indian/Native American Tribal Governments (Other than Federally Recognized); Non-domestic (non-U.S.) Entities (Foreign Organizations); Regional Organizations; Tribally Controlled Colleges and Universities (TCCUs) ; U.S. Territory or Possession; Non-domestic (non-U.S.) Entities (Foreign Institutions) are not eligible to apply Non-domestic (non-U.S.) components of U.S. Organizations are not eligible to apply. Foreign components, as defined in the NIH Grants Policy Statement, are allowed.

## What the grant funds

This FOA will support creative educational activities that focus primarily on research skills development. . Although activities focused primarily on mentoring activities or professional skills development are not within the scope of this funding announcement, the informal mentoring activities and professional skills development that are usually associated with courses for research skills development are permitted.

## Questions people ask

### Is PAR-22-224 still open?

No. It closed on May 25, 2025.

### Who can apply for NICHD Research Education Programs (R25 Clinical Trial Not Allowed)?

National Institutes of Health accepted applications from nonprofits, colleges and universities, state and local governments, tribes, small businesses and businesses. The notice adds further conditions, so read its eligibility section.

### What is the deadline for NICHD Research Education Programs (R25 Clinical Trial Not Allowed)?

Closed May 25, 2025. Applications are no longer accepted; the program's newer notices are on this page when there are any.

### How much funding is available?

Awards of up to $150,000 each.

### Who has been funded under PAR-22-224?

NIH RePORTER lists 20 projects funded under PAR-22-224 in fiscal 2024 to 2026, at 15 institutions. The most were at Marine Biological Laboratory, Children's Hosp of Philadelphia, Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory.

### Who has won National Center for Advancing Translational Sciences grants before?

The largest recipients over five fiscal years were University of Pittsburgh - of the Commonwealth System of Higher Education, Vanderbilt University Medical Center, Duke University. The program made 867 awards worth $3.1 billion in that time.
