# Postbaccalaureate Research Education Program (PREP)(R25 - Independent Clinical Trial Not Allowed)

Source: https://welltoldgrants.com/grants/par-22-220-postbaccalaureate-research-education-program-prep-r25/  
Official notice: https://www.grants.gov/search-results-detail/342866

> National Institutes of Health offered grants of up to $400,000 to nonprofits, colleges and universities and tribes. Applications closed on January 30, 2025.

| Field | Value |
|---|---|
| Opportunity number | PAR-22-220 |
| Agency | National Institutes of Health |
| Status | Forecast |
| Deadline | January 30, 2025 |
| Award ceiling | $400,000 |
| Award floor | not stated |
| Expected awards | not stated |
| Total funding | not stated |
| Cost sharing | not required |
| Assistance Listings | 93.859 |

## Who can apply

- Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
- Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized tribal governments)
- Nonprofits having a 501(c)(3) status with the IRS, other than institutions of higher education
- Nonprofits that do not have a 501(c)(3) status with the IRS, other than institutions of higher education
- Private institutions of higher education
- Others (see text field entitled "Additional Information on Eligibility" for clarification)

Other Eligible Applicants include the following: Alaska Native and Native Hawaiian Serving Institutions; Asian American Native American Pacific Islander Serving Institutions (AANAPISISs); Hispanic-serving Institutions; Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs); Tribally Controlled Colleges and Universities (TCCUs) ; Non-domestic (non-U.S.) Entities (Foreign Institutions) are not eligible to apply Non-domestic (non-U.S.) components of U.S. Organizations are not eligible to apply. Foreign components, as defined in the NIH Grants Policy Statement, are not allowed.

## What the grant funds

This funding opportunity announcement (FOA) provides support to eligible, domestic institutions to develop and implement effective, evidence-informed approaches to biomedical research education and mentoring that will keep pace with the rapid evolution of the research enterprise. NIGMS expects that the proposed research education programs will incorporate extensive research experiences, well-designed courses for skills development, mentoring, cohort building activities, and career development elements to prepare recent baccalaureates from diverse backgrounds to transition into and complete rigorous research-focused doctoral degree programs (e.g., Ph.D. or M.D./Ph.D.) in biomedical fields. This program is limited to applications from doctoral degree-granting research-intensive institutions. This Funding Opportunity Announcement (FOA) does not allow appointed participants to lead an independent clinical trial but does allow them to obtain research experience in a clinical trial led by a mentor or co-mentor.

## Questions people ask

### Is PAR-22-220 still open?

No. It closed on January 30, 2025.

### Who can apply for Postbaccalaureate Research Education Program (PREP)(R25 - Independent Clinical Trial Not Allowed)?

National Institutes of Health accepted applications from nonprofits, colleges and universities and tribes. The notice adds further conditions, so read its eligibility section.

### What is the deadline for Postbaccalaureate Research Education Program (PREP)(R25 - Independent Clinical Trial Not Allowed)?

Closed January 30, 2025. Applications are no longer accepted; the program's newer notices are on this page when there are any.

### How much funding is available?

Awards of up to $400,000 each.

### Who has been funded under PAR-22-220?

NIH RePORTER lists 17 projects funded under PAR-22-220 in fiscal 2023 to 2026, at 17 institutions. The most were at University of California Santa Cruz, Weill Medical Coll of Cornell Univ, University of Washington.

### Who has won Biomedical Research and Research Training grants before?

The largest recipients over five fiscal years were The Leland Stanford Junior University, Regents of the University of Michigan, University of California, San Diego. The program made 11,631 awards worth $15 billion in that time.
