# NEI Clinical Research Study Planning Grant Program (R34 Clinical Trial Not Allowed)

Source: https://welltoldgrants.com/grants/par-22-128-nei-clinical-research-study-planning-grant-program-r34/  
Official notice: https://www.grants.gov/search-results-detail/338443

> National Institutes of Health offered grants of up to $150,000 to nonprofits, colleges and universities, state and local governments, tribes, small businesses and businesses. Applications closed on January 9, 2025.

| Field | Value |
|---|---|
| Opportunity number | PAR-22-128 |
| Agency | National Institutes of Health |
| Status | Forecast |
| Deadline | January 9, 2025 |
| Award ceiling | $150,000 |
| Award floor | not stated |
| Expected awards | not stated |
| Total funding | not stated |
| Cost sharing | not required |
| Assistance Listings | 93.867 |

## Who can apply

- State governments
- County governments
- City or township governments
- Special district governments
- Independent school districts
- Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
- Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized)
- Public housing authorities/Indian housing authorities
- Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized tribal governments)
- Nonprofits having a 501(c)(3) status with the IRS, other than institutions of higher education
- Nonprofits that do not have a 501(c)(3) status with the IRS, other than institutions of higher education
- Private institutions of higher education
- For profit organizations other than small businesses
- Small businesses
- Others (see text field entitled "Additional Information on Eligibility" for clarification)

Other Eligible Applicants include the following: Alaska Native and Native Hawaiian Serving Institutions; Asian American Native American Pacific Islander Serving Institutions (AANAPISISs); Eligible Agencies of the Federal Government; Faith-based or Community-based Organizations; Hispanic-serving Institutions; Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs); Indian/Native American Tribal Governments (Other than Federally Recognized); Non-domestic (non-U.S.) Entities (Foreign Organizations); Regional Organizations; Tribally Controlled Colleges and Universities (TCCUs) ; U.S. Territory or Possession.

## What the grant funds

The National Eye Institute (NEI) supports large-scale clinical vision research projects, including randomized clinical trials and epidemiologic studies. At the time of submission, applications requesting support for these activities are expected to provide detailed information regarding the study rationale, design, analytic techniques, protocols and procedures, facilities and environment, organizational structure, and collaborative arrangements. This information is best conveyed in a well-documented Manual of Procedures (MOP), the development of which represents a costly and time-consuming activity. This FOA is designed to facilitate activities central to the refinement of a study protocol and procedures and the development of a detailed MOP. The NEI Clinical Study Planning Grant may be used to support the development of a MOP, as well as to conduct preliminary studies to refine study procedures or document recruitment potential. The grant must not be used to generate data on the effects of a proposed intervention. This NEI FOA is applicable to both epidemiologic and clinical trial research studies.

## Questions people ask

### Is PAR-22-128 still open?

No. It closed on January 9, 2025. A newer notice is open: PAR-25-358, due dates in the notice, expires January 7, 2028.

### Who can apply for NEI Clinical Research Study Planning Grant Program (R34 Clinical Trial Not Allowed)?

National Institutes of Health accepted applications from nonprofits, colleges and universities, state and local governments, tribes, small businesses and businesses. The notice adds further conditions, so read its eligibility section.

### What is the deadline for NEI Clinical Research Study Planning Grant Program (R34 Clinical Trial Not Allowed)?

Closed January 9, 2025. Applications are no longer accepted; the program's newer notices are on this page when there are any.

### How much funding is available?

Awards of up to $150,000 each.

### Who has been funded under PAR-22-128?

NIH RePORTER lists 5 projects funded under PAR-22-128 in fiscal 2023 to 2025, at 4 institutions. The most were at University of California, San Francisco, Stanford University, Ohio State University.

### Who has won Vision Research grants before?

The largest recipients over five fiscal years were The Johns Hopkins University, The Leland Stanford Junior University, The Regents of the University of California, San Francisco. The program made 3,275 awards worth $3.4 billion in that time.
