# Blueprint MedTech: Incubator Hubs (U54 Clinical Trial Not Allowed)

Source: https://welltoldgrants.com/grants/par-21-314-blueprint-medtech-incubator-hubs-u54-clinical-trial-not/  
Official notice: https://www.grants.gov/search-results-detail/335362

> National Institutes of Health offered grants to nonprofits, colleges and universities, state and local governments, tribes, small businesses and businesses. Applications closed on October 20, 2021.

| Field | Value |
|---|---|
| Opportunity number | PAR-21-314 |
| Agency | National Institutes of Health |
| Status | Forecast |
| Deadline | October 20, 2021 |
| Award ceiling | not stated |
| Award floor | not stated |
| Expected awards | not stated |
| Total funding | not stated |
| Cost sharing | not required |
| Assistance Listings | 93.121, 93.213, 93.242, 93.273, 93.279, 93.286, 93.853, 93.865, 93.866, 93.867 |

## Who can apply

- State governments
- County governments
- Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
- Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized)
- Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized tribal governments)
- Nonprofits having a 501(c)(3) status with the IRS, other than institutions of higher education
- Nonprofits that do not have a 501(c)(3) status with the IRS, other than institutions of higher education
- Private institutions of higher education
- For profit organizations other than small businesses
- Small businesses
- Others (see text field entitled "Additional Information on Eligibility" for clarification)

Other Eligible Applicants include the following: Alaska Native and Native Hawaiian Serving Institutions; Asian American Native American Pacific Islander Serving Institutions (AANAPISISs); Eligible Agencies of the Federal Government; Hispanic-serving Institutions; Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs); Tribally Controlled Colleges and Universities (TCCUs) ; U.S. Territory or Possession; Non-domestic (non-U.S.) Entities (Foreign Institutions) are not eligible to apply.

## What the grant funds

The NIH Blueprint for Neuroscience Research, with participating NIH Institutes and Centers (ICs), intends to promote the new Blueprint MedTech program by publishing a Funding Opportunity Announcement (FOA) to solicit applications to establish incubator hubs to provide medical device developers (innovators) with resources to support development of human-grade prototypes. The FOA intends to utilize the U54 activity code and is expected to be published in Summer 2021 with an expected application due date in Fall 2021. Incubator hubs will coordinate and manage resources for the Blueprint MedTech program, working as a consortium to provide: (1) infrastructure for identifying the most promising technologies, (2) the distribution of sub-award funding for innovators and resources to support product definition (e.g., needs assessment, product design, prototype development), and (3) access to relevant expertise (e.g., scientific, design, business development, and project management). Details of the planned program are provided below. This Notice is being provided for informational purposes to allow potential applicants additional time to develop responsive applications and meaningful collaborations. NIH reserves the right to modify the scope and objectives as described in this Notice. Final scope, objectives, and requirements will be set forth in the published FOAs.

## Questions people ask

### Is PAR-21-314 still open?

No. It closed on October 20, 2021.

### Who can apply for Blueprint MedTech: Incubator Hubs (U54 Clinical Trial Not Allowed)?

National Institutes of Health accepted applications from nonprofits, colleges and universities, state and local governments, tribes, small businesses and businesses. The notice adds further conditions, so read its eligibility section.

### What is the deadline for Blueprint MedTech: Incubator Hubs (U54 Clinical Trial Not Allowed)?

Closed October 20, 2021. Applications are no longer accepted; the program's newer notices are on this page when there are any.

### Who has been funded under PAR-21-314?

NIH RePORTER lists 2 projects funded under PAR-21-314 in fiscal 2022 to 2026, at 2 institutions. The most were at Massachusetts General Hospital, Johns Hopkins University.

### Who has won Oral Diseases and Disorders Research grants before?

The largest recipients over five fiscal years were Regents of the University of Michigan, The Regents of the University of California, San Francisco, University of Southern California. The program made 2,263 awards worth $1.9 billion in that time.
