# India Collaborative Vision Research Program (R01 Clinical Trial Not Allowed)

Source: https://welltoldgrants.com/grants/par-21-249-india-collaborative-vision-research-program-r01-clinical/  
Official notice: https://www.grants.gov/search-results-detail/334348

> National Institutes of Health offered grants of up to $250,000 to nonprofits, colleges and universities, state and local governments, tribes, small businesses and businesses. Applications closed on November 8, 2023.

| Field | Value |
|---|---|
| Opportunity number | PAR-21-249 |
| Agency | National Institutes of Health |
| Status | Forecast |
| Deadline | November 8, 2023 |
| Award ceiling | $250,000 |
| Award floor | not stated |
| Expected awards | not stated |
| Total funding | not stated |
| Cost sharing | not required |
| Assistance Listings | 93.867 |

## Who can apply

- State governments
- County governments
- City or township governments
- Special district governments
- Independent school districts
- Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
- Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized)
- Public housing authorities/Indian housing authorities
- Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized tribal governments)
- Nonprofits having a 501(c)(3) status with the IRS, other than institutions of higher education
- Nonprofits that do not have a 501(c)(3) status with the IRS, other than institutions of higher education
- Private institutions of higher education
- For profit organizations other than small businesses
- Small businesses
- Others (see text field entitled "Additional Information on Eligibility" for clarification)

Other Eligible Applicants include the following: Alaska Native and Native Hawaiian Serving Institutions; Asian American Native American Pacific Islander Serving Institutions (AANAPISISs); Eligible Agencies of the Federal Government; Faith-based or Community-based Organizations; Hispanic-serving Institutions; Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs); Indian/Native American Tribal Governments (Other than Federally Recognized); Regional Organizations; Tribally Controlled Colleges and Universities (TCCUs) ; U.S. Territory or Possession; Non-domestic (non-U.S.) Entities (Foreign Institutions) are not eligible to apply. Non-domestic (non-U.S.) components of U.S. Organizations are not eligible to apply. Foreign components, as defined in the NIH Grants Policy Statement, are allowed.

## What the grant funds

This funding Opportunity Announcement (FOA) encourages Multiple Principal Investigator (Multi-PD/PI) applications from United States (U.S.) and Indian institution as bilateral collaborations that will advance science and technology important to understanding, preventing, and treating blinding eye diseases, visual disorders, and their complications. Areas of Research Collaboration: Applications are encouraged from organization/institutions that propose to conduct research on the basic biology and/or genetics of ophthalmic diseases through collaborations with Indian investigators on the following: diabetic retinopathy, glaucoma, age-related macular degeneration, retinitis pigmentosa, including rare and genetic diseases such as congenital cataracts, as well as other eye conditions such as ocular inflammation/uveitis, refractive error, low vision, and corneal injury. Basic, translational, or epidemiological research maybe proposed. Clinical trials will not be supported under this FOA.

## Questions people ask

### Is PAR-21-249 still open?

No. It closed on November 8, 2023.

### Who can apply for India Collaborative Vision Research Program (R01 Clinical Trial Not Allowed)?

National Institutes of Health accepted applications from nonprofits, colleges and universities, state and local governments, tribes, small businesses and businesses. The notice adds further conditions, so read its eligibility section.

### What is the deadline for India Collaborative Vision Research Program (R01 Clinical Trial Not Allowed)?

Closed November 8, 2023. Applications are no longer accepted; the program's newer notices are on this page when there are any.

### How much funding is available?

Awards of up to $250,000 each.

### Who has been funded under PAR-21-249?

NIH RePORTER lists 3 projects funded under PAR-21-249 in fiscal 2022 to 2026, at 3 institutions. The most were at Massachusetts Eye and Ear Infirmary, Cincinnati Childrens Hosp Med Ctr, University of Florida.

### Who has won Vision Research grants before?

The largest recipients over five fiscal years were The Johns Hopkins University, The Leland Stanford Junior University, The Regents of the University of California, San Francisco. The program made 3,275 awards worth $3.4 billion in that time.
