# Limited Competition: Basic Instrumentation Grant (BIG) Program (S10 Clinical Trial Not Allowed)

Source: https://welltoldgrants.com/grants/par-21-125-limited-competition-basic-instrumentation-grant-big-program/  
Official notice: https://www.grants.gov/search-results-detail/331380

> National Institutes of Health offered grants of up to $250,000 to nonprofits and colleges and universities. It expected to make $3.0 million in total. Applications closed on June 15, 2021.

| Field | Value |
|---|---|
| Opportunity number | PAR-21-125 |
| Agency | National Institutes of Health |
| Status | Forecast |
| Deadline | June 15, 2021 |
| Award ceiling | $250,000 |
| Award floor | not stated |
| Expected awards | not stated |
| Total funding | $3.0 million |
| Cost sharing | not required |
| Assistance Listings | 93.351, 93.859 |

## Who can apply

- Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
- Nonprofits having a 501(c)(3) status with the IRS, other than institutions of higher education
- Nonprofits that do not have a 501(c)(3) status with the IRS, other than institutions of higher education
- Private institutions of higher education
- Others (see text field entitled "Additional Information on Eligibility" for clarification)

Other Eligible Applicants include the following: Alaska Native and Native Hawaiian Serving Institutions; Asian American Native American Pacific Islander Serving Institutions (AANAPISISs); Hispanic-serving Institutions; Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs); Tribally Controlled Colleges and Universities (TCCUs) ; U.S. Territory or Possession; Non-domestic (non-U.S.) Entities (Foreign Institutions) are not eligible to apply. Non-domestic (non-U.S.) components of U.S. Organizations are not eligible to apply. Foreign components, as defined in the NIH Grants Policy Statement, are not allowed.

## What the grant funds

The Basic Instrumentation Grant (BIG) Program encourages applications from groups of NIH-supported investigators to purchase a single high-priced, specialized, commercially available instrument or an integrated instrumentation system. The BIG Program is limited to institutions that have not received substantial S10 instrumentation awards of a total of $250,001 or greater in any of Federal fiscal years 2018-2020. The minimum award is $25,000. There is no maximum price limit for the instrument; however, the maximum award is $250,000. Instruments supported include, but are not limited to, basic cell sorters, confocal microscopes, ultramicrotomes, gel imagers, or computer systems.

## Questions people ask

### Is PAR-21-125 still open?

No. It closed on June 15, 2021.

### Who can apply for Limited Competition: Basic Instrumentation Grant (BIG) Program (S10 Clinical Trial Not Allowed)?

National Institutes of Health accepted applications from nonprofits and colleges and universities. The notice adds further conditions, so read its eligibility section.

### What is the deadline for Limited Competition: Basic Instrumentation Grant (BIG) Program (S10 Clinical Trial Not Allowed)?

Closed June 15, 2021. Applications are no longer accepted; the program's newer notices are on this page when there are any.

### How much funding is available?

Awards of up to $250,000 each. About $3.0 million in total.

### Who has been funded under PAR-21-125?

NIH RePORTER lists 14 projects funded under PAR-21-125 in fiscal 2022, at 14 institutions. The most were at New Jersey Institute of Technology, Endeavor Health Clinical Operations, California Institute of Technology.

### Who has won Research Infrastructure Programs grants before?

The largest recipients over five fiscal years were University of California, Davis, Oregon Health & Science University, University of Washington. The program made 1,102 awards worth $1.4 billion in that time.
