# BJA FY 2026 Postconviction Testing of DNA Evidence

Source: https://welltoldgrants.com/grants/o-bja-2026-172771-bja-fy-2026-postconviction-testing-of-dna-evidence/  
Official notice: https://www.grants.gov/search-results-detail/364163

> Bureau of Justice Assistance is offering grants of up to $1.0 million to colleges and universities and state and local governments. Applications close on December 8, 2026.

| Field | Value |
|---|---|
| Opportunity number | O-BJA-2026-172771 |
| Agency | Bureau of Justice Assistance |
| Status | Open |
| Deadline | December 8, 2026 |
| Award ceiling | $1.0 million |
| Award floor | not stated |
| Expected awards | not stated |
| Total funding | not stated |
| Cost sharing | not required |
| Assistance Listings | 16.820 |

## Who can apply

- State governments
- County governments
- City or township governments
- Special district governments
- Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
- Others (see text field entitled "Additional Information on Eligibility" for clarification)

Other Units of Local Government: For the purposes of this notice of funding opportunity, other units of local government include towns, boroughs, parishes, villages, or other general purpose political subdivisions of a state.

## What the grant funds

This is a notice of funding opportunity (NOFO) for the BJA FY 2026 Postconviction Testing of DNA Evidence program. This opportunity will assist states and units of local government in defraying the costs associated with postconviction case review, evidence location, and DNA testing in violent felony cases (as defined by state law) where the results of such testing might show actual innocence.

## Questions people ask

### Who can apply for BJA FY 2026 Postconviction Testing of DNA Evidence?

Bureau of Justice Assistance accepts applications from colleges and universities and state and local governments. The notice adds further conditions, so read its eligibility section.

### What is the deadline for BJA FY 2026 Postconviction Testing of DNA Evidence?

Closes December 8, 2026 (38 days left). Confirm the date and time in the official notice on Grants.gov.

### How much funding is available?

Awards of up to $1.0 million each.
