# BJA FY 2026 Local Law Enforcement Crime Gun Intelligence Center Integration Initiative

Source: https://welltoldgrants.com/grants/o-bja-2026-172701-bja-fy-2026-local-law-enforcement-crime-gun/  
Official notice: https://www.grants.gov/search-results-detail/363635

> Bureau of Justice Assistance offered grants of up to $700,000 to state and local governments and tribes. Applications closed on September 24, 2026.

| Field | Value |
|---|---|
| Opportunity number | O-BJA-2026-172701 |
| Agency | Bureau of Justice Assistance |
| Status | Forecast |
| Deadline | September 24, 2026 |
| Award ceiling | $700,000 |
| Award floor | not stated |
| Expected awards | not stated |
| Total funding | not stated |
| Cost sharing | not required |
| Assistance Listings | 16.738 |

## Who can apply

- State governments
- County governments
- City or township governments
- Special district governments
- Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized)
- Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized tribal governments)
- Others (see text field entitled "Additional Information on Eligibility" for clarification)

State, local, and Tribal law enforcement agencies, including prosecutors’ offices; Other Units of Local Government: For the purposes of this NOFO, other units of local government include towns, boroughs, parishes, villages, or other general purpose political subdivisions of a state.

## What the grant funds

This is a notice of funding opportunity (NOFO) for the FY 2026 Local Law Enforcement Crime Gun Intelligence Center (CGIC) Integration Initiative. In collaboration with DOJ’s Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives (ATF), the Local Law Enforcement Crime Gun Intelligence Center Integration Initiative supports law enforcement agencies to establish and expand CGICs to address firearm-related crime. CGICs are an interagency collaboration focused on the timely collection, management, and analysis of crime gun evidence, such as cartridge casings and semiautomatic handguns, using ATF’s National Integrated Ballistic Information Network (NIBIN) and Electronic Tracing System (eTrace). This initiative assists local law enforcement in utilizing intelligence and technology, swiftly identifying crime guns and their sources, and effectively prosecuting perpetrators.

## Questions people ask

### Is O-BJA-2026-172701 still open?

No. It closed on September 24, 2026. A newer notice is open: O-BJA-2026-172793, closes December 1, 2026 (24 days left).

### Who can apply for BJA FY 2026 Local Law Enforcement Crime Gun Intelligence Center Integration Initiative?

Bureau of Justice Assistance accepted applications from state and local governments and tribes. The notice adds further conditions, so read its eligibility section.

### What is the deadline for BJA FY 2026 Local Law Enforcement Crime Gun Intelligence Center Integration Initiative?

Closed September 24, 2026. Applications are no longer accepted; the program's newer notices are on this page when there are any.

### How much funding is available?

Awards of up to $700,000 each.

### Who has won Edward Byrne Memorial Justice Assistance Grant Program grants before?

The largest recipients over five fiscal years were California Board of State and Community Corrections, Texas Office of the Governor, City of Chicago. The program made 4,339 awards worth $1.8 billion in that time.
