# BJA FY25 John R. Justice (JRJ) Formula Grant Program

Source: https://welltoldgrants.com/grants/o-bja-2025-172568-bja-fy25-john-r-justice-jrj-formula-grant/  
Official notice: https://www.grants.gov/search-results-detail/361538

> Bureau of Justice Assistance offered grants of up to $120,000 to state and local governments. Applications closed on April 17, 2026.

| Field | Value |
|---|---|
| Opportunity number | O-BJA-2025-172568 |
| Agency | Bureau of Justice Assistance |
| Status | Forecast |
| Deadline | April 17, 2026 |
| Award ceiling | $120,000 |
| Award floor | not stated |
| Expected awards | not stated |
| Total funding | not stated |
| Cost sharing | not required |
| Assistance Listings | 16.816 |

## Who can apply

- State governments

## What the grant funds

This NOFO will provide loan repayment assistance for local and state prosecutors and local, state, and federal public defenders who commit to continued employment as public defenders and prosecutors. States receiving funding will administer statewide programs through state agencies designated by the governor by soliciting applications from eligible beneficiaries, which include local and state prosecutors and local, state, and federal public defenders (“beneficiaries”). Beneficiaries selected must commit to an additional three years of qualifying service in exchange for partial loan repayment directly to the beneficiary’s loan service provider.

## Questions people ask

### Is O-BJA-2025-172568 still open?

No. It closed on April 17, 2026.

### Who can apply for BJA FY25 John R. Justice (JRJ) Formula Grant Program?

Bureau of Justice Assistance accepted applications from state and local governments.

### What is the deadline for BJA FY25 John R. Justice (JRJ) Formula Grant Program?

Closed April 17, 2026. Applications are no longer accepted; the program's newer notices are on this page when there are any.

### How much funding is available?

Awards of up to $120,000 each.

### Who has won John R.  Justice Prosecutors and Defenders Incentive Act grants before?

The largest recipients over five fiscal years were Office of Emergency Services, Florida Department of Education, Crime & Delinquency Pa Commission on. The program made 157 awards worth $11.6 million in that time.
