# BJA FY24 John R. Justice (JRJ) Formula Grant Program

Source: https://welltoldgrants.com/grants/o-bja-2024-172088-bja-fy24-john-r-justice-jrj-formula-grant/  
Official notice: https://www.grants.gov/search-results-detail/354582

> Bureau of Justice Assistance offered grants of up to $500,000 to state and local governments. It expected to make about 56 awards. Applications closed on July 26, 2024.

| Field | Value |
|---|---|
| Opportunity number | O-BJA-2024-172088 |
| Agency | Bureau of Justice Assistance |
| Status | Forecast |
| Deadline | July 26, 2024 |
| Award ceiling | $500,000 |
| Award floor | not stated |
| Expected awards | 56 |
| Total funding | not stated |
| Cost sharing | not required |
| Assistance Listings | 16.816 |

## Who can apply

- State governments
- Others (see text field entitled "Additional Information on Eligibility" for clarification)

For the purposes of this notice of funding opportunity, “other” means state and U.S. territory government agencies designated by their governor (or the mayor of the District of Columbia) to administer the JRJ Grant Program.

## What the grant funds

OJP is committed to advancing work that promotes civil rights and equity, increases access to justice, supports crime victims and individuals impacted by the justice system, strengthens community safety, protects the public from crime and evolving threats, and builds trust between law enforcement and the community. With this solicitation, BJA seeks to make funding available to state agencies designated by the governor to improve the recruitment and retention of local, state, and federal public defenders and local and state prosecutors (“beneficiaries”). States receiving funding will administer statewide John R. Justice Programs (JRJ) programs by soliciting applications from eligible beneficiaries. Beneficiaries selected must commit to an additional three years of qualifying service in exchange for partial loan repayment directly to the beneficiary’s loan service provider.

## Questions people ask

### Is O-BJA-2024-172088 still open?

No. It closed on July 26, 2024.

### Who can apply for BJA FY24 John R. Justice (JRJ) Formula Grant Program?

Bureau of Justice Assistance accepted applications from state and local governments. The notice adds further conditions, so read its eligibility section.

### What is the deadline for BJA FY24 John R. Justice (JRJ) Formula Grant Program?

Closed July 26, 2024. Applications are no longer accepted; the program's newer notices are on this page when there are any.

### How much funding is available?

Awards of up to $500,000 each.

### Who has won John R.  Justice Prosecutors and Defenders Incentive Act grants before?

The largest recipients over five fiscal years were Office of Emergency Services, Florida Department of Education, Crime & Delinquency Pa Commission on. The program made 157 awards worth $11.6 million in that time.
