# BJA FY 23 Invited to Apply- August

Source: https://welltoldgrants.com/grants/o-bja-2023-171861-bja-fy-23-invited-to-apply-august/  
Official notice: https://www.grants.gov/search-results-detail/349878

> Bureau of Justice Assistance offered grants of up to $666,666 to the applicants described in the notice. It expected to make about 2 awards. Applications closed on August 22, 2023.

| Field | Value |
|---|---|
| Opportunity number | O-BJA-2023-171861 |
| Agency | Bureau of Justice Assistance |
| Status | Forecast |
| Deadline | August 22, 2023 |
| Award ceiling | $666,666 |
| Award floor | not stated |
| Expected awards | 2 |
| Total funding | not stated |
| Cost sharing | not required |
| Assistance Listings | 16.828, 16.839 |

## Who can apply

- Others (see text field entitled "Additional Information on Eligibility" for clarification)

Only applicants that received an official invitation letter from BJA are able and eligible to apply. Please refer to that letter for the eligibility requirements. To advance Executive Order 13929 Safe Policing for Safe Communities, the Attorney General determined that all state, local, and university or college law enforcement agencies must be certified by an approved independent credentialing body or have started the certification process to be eligible for FY 2023 DOJ discretionary grant funding. To become certified, the law enforcement agency must meet two mandatory conditions: (1) the agency’s use-of-force policies adhere to all applicable federal, state, and local laws and (2) the agency’s use-of-force policies prohibit chokeholds except in situations where use of deadly force is allowed by law. The certification requirement also applies to law enforcement agencies receiving DOJ discretionary grant funding through a subaward. For detailed information on this certification requirement, please visit https://cops.usdoj.gov/SafePolicingEO to access the Standards for Certification on Safe Policing for Safe Communities, the Implementation Fact Sheet, and the List of Designated Independent Credentialing Bodies. All recipients and subrecipients (including any for-profit organization) must forgo any profit or management fee. BJA will consider applications under which two or more entities would carry out the federal award; however, only one entity may be the applicant. Any others must be proposed as subrecipients (subgrantees). For additional information on subawards, see the OJP Grant Application Resource Guide.

## What the grant funds

OJP is committed to advancing work that promotes civil rights and racial equity, increases access to justice, supports crime victims and individuals impacted by the justice system, strengthens community safety and protects the public from crime and evolving threats, and builds trust between law enforcement and the community. The purpose of this solicitation is to invite organizations and entities to apply for continuation funding in support of specific BJA initiatives. This solicitation is exclusively for those who received a letter from BJA to apply. All guidelines and funding rules are the same as for the originally funded project. Statutory Authority: Please reference the specific authority referenced in the applicant invitation letter.

## Questions people ask

### Is O-BJA-2023-171861 still open?

No. It closed on August 22, 2023.

### Who can apply for BJA FY 23 Invited to Apply- August?

Bureau of Justice Assistance accepted applications from the applicants described in the notice. The notice adds further conditions, so read its eligibility section.

### What is the deadline for BJA FY 23 Invited to Apply- August?

Closed August 22, 2023. Applications are no longer accepted; the program's newer notices are on this page when there are any.

### How much funding is available?

Awards of up to $666,666 each.

### Who has won Swift, Certain, and Fair Supervision Program: Applying the Principles Behind Project HOPE grants before?

The largest recipients over five fiscal years were New York University, Dekalb County Government, Alabama Bureau of Pardons and Parole Firstnet. The program made 24 awards worth $18.7 million in that time.
