# BJA FY 21 Second Chance Act Community-Based Reentry Program

Source: https://welltoldgrants.com/grants/o-bja-2021-58002-bja-fy-21-second-chance-act-community-based/  
Official notice: https://www.grants.gov/search-results-detail/330929

> Bureau of Justice Assistance offered grants of up to $750,000 to nonprofits and tribes. It expected to make $12.8 million in total. Applications closed on April 13, 2021.

| Field | Value |
|---|---|
| Opportunity number | O-BJA-2021-58002 |
| Agency | Bureau of Justice Assistance |
| Status | Forecast |
| Deadline | April 13, 2021 |
| Award ceiling | $750,000 |
| Award floor | not stated |
| Expected awards | not stated |
| Total funding | $12.8 million |
| Cost sharing | not required |
| Assistance Listings | 16.812 |

## Who can apply

- Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized)
- Nonprofits having a 501(c)(3) status with the IRS, other than institutions of higher education
- Others (see text field entitled "Additional Information on Eligibility" for clarification)

To advance Executive Order 13929 Safe Policing for Safe Communities, the Attorney General determined that all state, local, and university or college law enforcement agencies must be certified by an approved independent credentialing body or have started the certification process to be eligible for FY 2021 DOJ discretionary grant funding. To become certified, the law enforcement agency must meet two mandatory conditions: (1) the agency’s use of force policies adhere to all applicable federal, state, and local laws; and (2) the agency’s use of force policies prohibit chokeholds except in situations where use of deadly force is allowed by law. The certification requirement also applies to law enforcement agencies receiving DOJ discretionary grant funding through a subaward. For detailed information on this new certification requirement, please visit https://cops.usdoj.gov/SafePolicingEO to access the Standards for Certification on Safe Policing for Safe Communities, Implementation Fact Sheet, and List of Designated Independent Credentialing Bodies. All recipients and subrecipients (including any for-profit organization) must forgo any profit or management fee.

## What the grant funds

The Second Chance Act of 2007 (Pub. L. 110-199), reauthorized by the First Step Act of 2018, provides a comprehensive response to assist in the transition individuals make from prison, jail, or juvenile residential facilities to the community so that the transition is more successful and promotes public safety.

## Questions people ask

### Is O-BJA-2021-58002 still open?

No. It closed on April 13, 2021.

### Who can apply for BJA FY 21 Second Chance Act Community-Based Reentry Program?

Bureau of Justice Assistance accepted applications from nonprofits and tribes. The notice adds further conditions, so read its eligibility section.

### What is the deadline for BJA FY 21 Second Chance Act Community-Based Reentry Program?

Closed April 13, 2021. Applications are no longer accepted; the program's newer notices are on this page when there are any.

### How much funding is available?

Awards of up to $750,000 each. About $12.8 million in total.

### Who has won Second Chance Act Reentry Initiative grants before?

The largest recipients over five fiscal years were The Council of State Governments LTD., American Institutes for Research in the Behavioral Sciences, Impact Justice. The program made 447 awards worth $402 million in that time.
