# BJA FY 21 Implementing the PREA Standards, Protecting Inmates, and Safeguarding Communities

Source: https://welltoldgrants.com/grants/o-bja-2021-41003-bja-fy-21-implementing-the-prea-standards-protecting/  
Official notice: https://www.grants.gov/search-results-detail/330720

> Bureau of Justice Assistance offered grants of up to $250,000 to state and local governments and tribes. It expected to make $4.5 million in total. Applications closed on April 20, 2021.

| Field | Value |
|---|---|
| Opportunity number | O-BJA-2021-41003 |
| Agency | Bureau of Justice Assistance |
| Status | Forecast |
| Deadline | April 20, 2021 |
| Award ceiling | $250,000 |
| Award floor | not stated |
| Expected awards | not stated |
| Total funding | $4.5 million |
| Cost sharing | required |
| Assistance Listings | 16.735 |

## Who can apply

- State governments
- County governments
- City or township governments
- Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized)
- Others (see text field entitled "Additional Information on Eligibility" for clarification)

To advance Executive Order 13929 Safe Policing for Safe Communities, the Attorney General determined that all state, local, and university or college law enforcement agencies must be certified by an approved independent credentialing body or have started the certification process to be eligible for FY 2021 DOJ discretionary grant funding. To become certified, the law enforcement agency must meet two mandatory conditions: (1) the agency’s use of force policies adhere to all applicable federal, state, and local laws; and (2) the agency’s use of force policies prohibit chokeholds except in situations where use of deadly force is allowed by law. The certification requirement also applies to law enforcement agencies receiving DOJ discretionary grant funding through a subaward. For detailed information on this new certification requirement, please visit https://cops.usdoj.gov/SafePolicingEO to access the Standards for Certification on Safe Policing for Safe Communities, Implementation Fact Sheet, and List of Designated Independent Credentialing Bodies. All recipients and subrecipients (including any for-profit organization) must forgo any profit or management fee

## What the grant funds

The Prison Rape Elimination Act (PREA) directs DOJ to provide grants to jurisdictions and agencies nationwide to "protect inmates (particularly from prison rape) and to safeguard the communities to which inmates return." 34 U.S.C. § 30305(a). Federal funds awarded to grantees may be used to protect inmates by "undertaking efforts to more effectively prevent prison rape; investigating incidents of prison rape; or prosecuting incidents of prison rape." 34 U.S.C. § 30305 (b)(1).

## Questions people ask

### Is O-BJA-2021-41003 still open?

No. It closed on April 20, 2021.

### Who can apply for BJA FY 21 Implementing the PREA Standards, Protecting Inmates, and Safeguarding Communities?

Bureau of Justice Assistance accepted applications from state and local governments and tribes. The notice adds further conditions, so read its eligibility section.

### What is the deadline for BJA FY 21 Implementing the PREA Standards, Protecting Inmates, and Safeguarding Communities?

Closed April 20, 2021. Applications are no longer accepted; the program's newer notices are on this page when there are any.

### How much funding is available?

Awards of up to $250,000 each. About $4.5 million in total.

### Who has won PREA Program: Strategic Support for PREA Implementation  grants before?

The largest recipients over five fiscal years were Impact Justice, The Urban Institute, Community Resources for Justice, Inc. The program made 176 awards worth $35.5 million in that time.
