# BJA FY 2020 State Criminal Alien Assistance Program Program Requirements and Application Instructions

Source: https://welltoldgrants.com/grants/o-bja-2020-62002-bja-fy-2020-state-criminal-alien-assistance-program/  
Official notice: https://www.grants.gov/search-results-detail/330894

> Bureau of Justice Assistance offered grants of up to $95,000 to state and local governments. It expected to make $210 million in total. Applications closed on July 30, 2021.

| Field | Value |
|---|---|
| Opportunity number | O-BJA-2020-62002 |
| Agency | Bureau of Justice Assistance |
| Status | Forecast |
| Deadline | July 30, 2021 |
| Award ceiling | $95,000 |
| Award floor | not stated |
| Expected awards | not stated |
| Total funding | $210 million |
| Cost sharing | not required |
| Assistance Listings | 16.606 |

## Who can apply

- State governments
- County governments
- City or township governments
- Others (see text field entitled "Additional Information on Eligibility" for clarification)

See Eligibility Information in this solicitation.

## What the grant funds

OJP’s Bureau of Justice Assistance (BJA) administers SCAAP. Under SCAAP, OJP makes payments to "states" and "units of local government" that incur certain types of costs due to "incarceration" of "undocumented criminal aliens" during a specific 12-month "reporting period." Under the FY 2020 program, payments will be made in connection with "undocumented" aliens who had been convicted of at least one felony or two misdemeanors (typically for violations of state or local law) and who were "incarcerated" under the legal authority of the applicant government for at least 4 consecutive days during the "reporting period." (Additional details are set out in later sections of this document.) As part of its application, each applicant government provides particular information about individuals it "incarcerated" — under its own legal authority — for at least 4 consecutive days during the "reporting period" and whom the applicant government either (1) knows were "undocumented criminal aliens" or (2) reasonably and in good faith believes were "undocumented criminal aliens." (OJP transmits the data submitted on such individuals to DHS for a detailed review.) As part of its application, each applicant government also must provide information pertinent to its average costs of incarceration during the "reporting period." Broadly speaking, SCAAP payments are calculated from information provided by applicant governments in online applications, information provided to OJP by DHS regarding the DHS review of data on "eligible inmates," and the amount of appropriated funds available for the SCAAP application cycle (e.g., for the FY 2020 program). All information submitted as part of an application is subject to appropriate review by OJP.

## Questions people ask

### Is O-BJA-2020-62002 still open?

No. It closed on July 30, 2021. A newer notice is open: O-BJA-2026-172810, closes December 15, 2026 (38 days left).

### Who can apply for BJA FY 2020 State Criminal Alien Assistance Program Program Requirements and Application Instructions?

Bureau of Justice Assistance accepted applications from state and local governments. The notice adds further conditions, so read its eligibility section.

### What is the deadline for BJA FY 2020 State Criminal Alien Assistance Program Program Requirements and Application Instructions?

Closed July 30, 2021. Applications are no longer accepted; the program's newer notices are on this page when there are any.

### How much funding is available?

Awards of up to $95,000 each. About $210 million in total.

### Who has won State Criminal Alien Assistance Program grants before?

The largest recipients over five fiscal years were California Department of Corrections, New York State Department of Corrections and Community Supervision, Texas Department of Criminal Justice. The program made 1,062 awards worth $434 million in that time.
