# Children’s Hospitals Graduate Medical Education (CHGME) Payment Program

Source: https://welltoldgrants.com/grants/hrsa-25-079-childrens-hospitals-graduate-medical-education-chgme/  
Official notice: https://www.grants.gov/search-results-detail/354643

> Health Resources and Services Administration offered grants to the applicants described in the notice. It expected to make about 59 awards worth $366 million in total. Applications closed on August 8, 2024.

| Field | Value |
|---|---|
| Opportunity number | HRSA-25-079 |
| Agency | Health Resources and Services Administration |
| Status | Forecast |
| Deadline | August 8, 2024 |
| Award ceiling | not stated |
| Award floor | not stated |
| Expected awards | 59 |
| Total funding | $366 million |
| Cost sharing | not required |
| Assistance Listings | 93.255 |

## Who can apply

- Others (see text field entitled "Additional Information on Eligibility" for clarification)

Freestanding childrens hospitals whose inpatients are predominantly under 18 years of age, who participate in an approved GME program, and who have a Medicare payment agreement. See Section III.1 of this Notice of Funding Opportunity (NOFO) for complete eligibility information.

## What the grant funds

The purpose of the Children’s Hospitals Graduate Medical Education (CHGME) Payment Program is to compensate for the disparity in the level of federal graduate medical education (GME) funding for freestanding children’s teaching hospitals versus other types of teaching hospitals. Federal funding for GME is primarily provided by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) and goes to full-service teaching hospitals that serve primarily adult patients. Freestanding children’s hospitals receive little to no GME funding from Medicare because children’s hospitals have a low Medicare caseload. The CHGME Payment Program is administered by the Bureau of Health Workforce (BHW), Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA), U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS).

## Questions people ask

### Is HRSA-25-079 still open?

No. It closed on August 8, 2024. A newer notice is forecast: HRSA-27-016, expected deadline February 3, 2027.

### Who can apply for Children’s Hospitals Graduate Medical Education (CHGME) Payment Program?

Health Resources and Services Administration accepted applications from the applicants described in the notice. The notice adds further conditions, so read its eligibility section.

### What is the deadline for Children’s Hospitals Graduate Medical Education (CHGME) Payment Program?

Closed August 8, 2024. Applications are no longer accepted; the program's newer notices are on this page when there are any.

### How much funding is available?

About $366 million in total across about 59 awards.

### Who has won Children's Hospitals Graduate Medical Education Payment Program grants before?

The largest recipients over five fiscal years were The Children's Hospital of Philadelphia, The Children's Hospital Corporation, Children's National Medical Center. The program made 59 awards worth $1.8 billion in that time.
